Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Not something I could drink often, but tasted really good. Made way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyssasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The best Hot Buttered Rum Batter I've ever made or tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I am the most popular woman at work after giving individual batches of the batter as Christmas gifts. Everyone enjoyed the toddy's. A very comforting, delicious drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So disappointing. I followed the instructions to the letter, but it just doesn't taste that great. It's too sweet and not buttery enough for my liking. If I were to make this again, I'd cut the confectioner's sugar completely. Overall, it's just not that good for the calories you're consuming while drinking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I remember drinking this (sans rum) when I was a child, it was a Christmas favorite of my grandma. One taste and it was 1979 again, snowing outside, and Grandma was still with us. Isn't that what traditions do? Keep us in touch with our loved ones through those shared memories. Thanks for sharing this recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. I was afraid it would create a watery drink, but not at all - the result is creamy perfection. I made two batches to give out as presents, and it was easy and fun. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have been leary of buttered rum recipes because I have had weak tasting buttered rum before, and there is nothing worse!! This recipe is DELISH with just the hot water and rum! I am going to try it with hot apple cider for Christmas. I made a full batch, and it will last a while. Excited to have it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonmccarley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A Christmas party hit! I doubled the spice requirements and added a pinch of clove. Adults loved it and the kids loved the virgin version of it (hot cider used instead of water and rum).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING!! You can change it up simply by using a different type of vanilla ice cream (french, vanilla bean etc...) or adding a bit of pure vanilla to give it a richer flavor. The recipe is very versatile. Use it in coffee, with hot water or in cider for starters. I've used rum (spiced IS best) Baileys Irish Cream, coffee and whiskey and yes, even plain ;) This recipe is simply.....NUUUUMMMMY! I made a triple batch and am giving it away in jars for Christmas. THANK YOU SHERIMA1!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this last night to test it before giving it as a gift for Christmas. It was REALLY good. I followed the recipe exactly, but cut it in half. After being in the freezer overnight it's still not completely frozen..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States