Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. I was afraid it would create a watery drink, but not at all - the result is creamy perfection. I made two batches to give out as presents, and it was easy and fun. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have been leary of buttered rum recipes because I have had weak tasting buttered rum before, and there is nothing worse!! This recipe is DELISH with just the hot water and rum! I am going to try it with hot apple cider for Christmas. I made a full batch, and it will last a while. Excited to have it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonmccarley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A Christmas party hit! I doubled the spice requirements and added a pinch of clove. Adults loved it and the kids loved the virgin version of it (hot cider used instead of water and rum).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING!! You can change it up simply by using a different type of vanilla ice cream (french, vanilla bean etc...) or adding a bit of pure vanilla to give it a richer flavor. The recipe is very versatile. Use it in coffee, with hot water or in cider for starters. I've used rum (spiced IS best) Baileys Irish Cream, coffee and whiskey and yes, even plain ;) This recipe is simply.....NUUUUMMMMY! I made a triple batch and am giving it away in jars for Christmas. THANK YOU SHERIMA1!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this last night to test it before giving it as a gift for Christmas. It was REALLY good. I followed the recipe exactly, but cut it in half. After being in the freezer overnight it's still not completely frozen..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Delicious. This is really good as my creamer in my coffee in the morning, without the buttered rum :) This will now be my recipe. I also used Spiced Rum like some other reviewers. Just a splash for me. Used French Vanilla Breyer's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Excellent!! Drinking one right now. Our first Christmas toast, Christmas 2010.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaluwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I have been really sick with a horrible cold that I can't seem to shake. While purusing allrecipes the other night I really wanted to find a hot drink to warm my insides and help me sleep. I love hot buttered rum and when I saw this recipe it sounded really yummy. My husband made it for me last night and I will tell you it made me sleep like a baby! I felt so warmed up and helped loosen my sinuses enough that I could get some decent sleep. Not saying it's a cure all for what ails you, but it sure can't hurt! Plus it tastes sooooo good! I plan on making more of these on xmas! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is a great recipe! I started making this in 1965 when I found it in a newspaper in Ohio. Kept it for years but then forgot about it. It makes wonderful Christmas gifts. I love it with apple cider or even in my coffee. Warms your from the inside out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Wonderful! I made this and shared with my family and it hit the spot. Warm, sweet, and merry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States