Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I was a little worried reading some of the more critical reviews that this was going to be too sweet. I kept going back and forth over less sugar or more butter but ultimately decided to follow the recipe exactly. I used cider instead of water, and Capt Morgan's and I loved it. It wasn't too sweet, had just enough rum to add flavor, but not so much you're gagging on the alcohol taste. I didn't care for nutmeg sprinkled on top, but I did love a dollop of whipped cream on it. Tomorrow I plan to try it with water and maybe whipped cream and cinnamon on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Way too sweet! Needs maybe some more spices, a dash of salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lehman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
yummy yummy yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is really good! makes a large batch to get thru the season with. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Very good. But I did get too much cinnamon and I think the sugar should be cut down in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have made this several times. I use 2 scoops of batter, 2 shots of MEYERS rum in a large mug and then fill with hot water. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
We've been making this in my family for years. I've never met anyone who didn't love it. It's just not the holidays without a nice warm mug of this deliciously decadent drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
The only reason I give this recipe 4 stars and not 5 is because it doesn't include ground clove and allspice. I just finished making this recipe and am enjoying a cup now, its excellent with White Christmas rum and brandy drink and I also added a drop of apple jack liquor to it. I really do suggest adding allspice and clove; gives it a little extra spice that's o so nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I am having some of this right now and it is awesome!! Made exactly as is and wouldn't change a thing!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I tried this exactly how the recipe is written and it was awesome! Then I made it with bourbon instead of rum and it just got better. The bourbon seemed to cut the sweetness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States