Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I've now sampled my wares and think it was a fabulous decision! I made a 3x batch with the intent to give some away. I used an instant cider pack and a lot of hot water in a big mug with about a shot of spiced rum. I added a bit more rum because I couldn't taste it. I gave up the idea I would "taste" it after I'd added about 2 shots (total). Dangerous stuff! I had my husband whisk the sugars into the butter because the butter was floating and . . I'm a wimp. Once it was whipped it was smooth and almost fudge-ish. Taking an idea from comments in another HBRum recipe on here, I sprayed some ice cube trays with unflavored oil and am freezing pre-portioned amounts for serving to guests. I've never made this before, and only had it once. I'm trying to decide who are the people who *must* get these as gifts and how many I can keep! Update: Don't do the ice-cube tray idea! I've got a gloppy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is wonderful! Easy to make ahead and serve the night of a party - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Really, really good! It seemed a little weak using only 1 tablespoon of batter per serving, so I doubled it. Perfect for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Excellant recipe! My original recipe was lost and thanks to this site, I have it again! Make it! You'll get great review at your next party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
There are no words great enough to describe how good this is. I cut this in half, as it's only my husband and I that will consume it. I also use two tablespoons of the rum batter and add a shot of spiced rum. It's liquid heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I've never tried a recipe like this. It was easy to make, makes A LOT of servings, and is really yummy. We used fat-free ice cream and low-fat butter. Yummy! Great with spiced rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
WOW! This is the best Rum Batter, EVER. It looks like you are making a lot, but it is SOOO worth it. Share it with a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is the best holiday drink recipe! My famiily loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Good for parties, great for unwinding and taking the chill off. Use apple cider if you have a sweet tooth, use hot water if you don't. Going to go have one more now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Wasn't sure what to expect of this but it was good, especially with 2 tablespoons of the mix per cup. I've noticed that on some of the Buttered Rum reviews people mentioned the "butter" floating on top. Because butter is dairy based it shouldn't do this, make sure you don't replace it with margarine- oil based. Also, I doubled the recipe and put it in a plastic gallon ice cream container, it fit perfectly. Make sure you don't put it in a chest type deep freeze while it hardens though. My kids tipped it and dumped half in the full freezer as the seal didn't hold and I didn't notice until 6 hours later, what a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Positively Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States