Hot Buttered Rum Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Smooth and creamier than a standard Hot Buttered Rum, especially when topped with the whip cream that one reviewer suggested. Excellent with Capt Morgan Spiced rum. Gives it the extra spice it misses otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I LOVE this batter. I make sure to have it in the freezer during the fall and winter months. We use it with rum, apple cider, butterscotch schnapps (my personal favorite) and coffee. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
It was a huge hit served hot in cider for our Thanksgiving family "reunion". I cut the recipe in half and stored half in the freezer in "Ball" freezer-friendly containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I made the recipe as listed, but scaled it down by half. I also added a dash of cloves. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESMALLANGEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I loved this and gave it as gifts to any rum loving friends as well as keeping a lot for myself. I'm glad it makes so much because on cold winter days after work, this is a wonderful hot drink. I used to have a so-so recipe, but now I'll be making this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wonderful but I put in double the amount of the batter into my cup. This taste great when made with the european butter and if you mix milk or cream into the hot water, makes it richer. It is very good as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commis Chef Nieves

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Nice and easy. I actually found a Dryer's brand icecream that was Pumpkin Pie flavored, and it was perfect for this application! But, the vanilla is wonderful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lavaca, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe DOES make a lot, but use good ingredients, and who cares? In a pretty freezer container with recipe attached, it's a great gift idea. I used HaagenDazs ice cream, and freshly ground nutmeg, and it was delicious even as a virgin hot drink for the holidays. Rum's optional, but the freshly grated nutmeg on top isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe yields a LOT of batter! It would be great to give to neighbors and friends as a gift. Our guests only drank one mug each during our Christmas party, as it reportedly made everyone sleepy (even though we were careful about the amount of rum added to each serving). I'd love to try this with amaretto - what a great idea from a past reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very easy and very tasty. It's nice to have a batch made up and in the freezer for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States