Hot Buttered Apple Cider Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This was terrific. Just what I need, more calories to the cider! Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
This was pure Heaven! I had never tasted hot apple cider and thought I would give this recipe a shot. It looked very simple to make and I was extremely pleased with just how simple it truly was. My husband tried it and has now made a rule to always keep this beverage on our menu, regardless of the weather! Thank you so much, Karen. You've made my husband and I a couple of apple cider addicts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
The spices made the drink taste wonderful! However, since the butter and the cider don't mix, the butter just floated on the top of the cider. It didn't taste that good to drink in a sip of cider and get a mouthful of butter. It coats your mouth and doesn't blend well with the cider. I would omit the butter and just use the spices if I make this recipe again. Also, I didn't use the maple syrup because I don't like to drink super sweet drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
WOW!!!! this is some good stuff. thanks for the recipe. it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This is the first time I had ever made my own hot cider, and it was great...with the exception that I wouldn't use the spiced butter. I agree with the comment left at 10/22/2002 that the spiced butter really doesn't do anything for the drink, but maybe only the spices could be used next time. Other than that, it was really nice for my first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
We love this! Going to serve this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This is some tasty stuff! I totally reworked prep though. I cut the recipe in half and combined the maple syrup and apple cider in a glass pyrex dish, and microwaved it for 1 minute. I couldn't understand the benefit of lugging out the slow cooker and waiting 20 minutes for it to warm up. Then, I just took a pat of butter, topped the drink with it,and sprinkled in allspice, nutmeg, and a heavy dash of cinnamon. Yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I tried this recipe with a couple of friends for a tree decorating party....too too sweet. We ended up diluting first with cider then with water. Does anyone have a dilution suggestion?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I have to say that the cider has good flavor, but not if you add the butter. If you add the butter, it doesn't mix with the cider. My Mother-in-Law and I tried this one night to see if it would warm up our winter blues... The butter makes it too sweet. I'd make it again, but without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This recipe was interesting. My parents really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States