Hot Breakfast Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Tasted great except wasn't enough milk. A little too dry for me. Going to make it again and tweak the recipe a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
We were not into this. Definitely prefer oatmeal with all the same add-ins. I can see how this would be very convenient for camping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I really liked the flavors and will make this again. Sadly, I didn't see the fine print that said this was 8 servings. It was a bit much for my wife and me. The down side is that this really IS dry. When I lifted the lid off the pot to stir in the other ingredients, there was no stirring. Instead, there was "cutting in". The cous cous had become a solid mass that I had to break apart. Even if you're not expecting, as one writer chided, breakfast pilaf, surely it shouldn't be so dry it can't be stirred. We served it with milk, which helped. The next time I make it, I'll increase the liquid by about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. There was WAY too much cinnamon in the recipe, & even if I was to make it again using less cinnamon, the texture was unappealing. I don't know if the couscous didn't get cooked fully (I was worried about scalding the milk) or what, but it was sticky & hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I absolutely love this! I often add a little nutmeg to it as well and sometimes extra hot milk when it's done cooking to making it moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wakipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I never really tried couscous before this, I love it! I do apples with hazel nuts and agave nectar instead of almonds with apricots and honey. I never thought I would like this grain, but it's way better than oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
All I have to say is yum....I put a dash of nutmeg and was very good. Kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Fantastic!! I LOVE couscous and I used regular couscous (not the pearl kind). I made the recipe for just 2 people and left out the fruit, and added 1/2 c. more milk and 1/2 c. more almonds. This was so delicious! I really like the crunchy-nutty taste of the almonds, and the light sweetness of the honey. Super healthy, low carb and low salt too! Plus, I was full for the entire morning until lunch time, no cravings for snacks. Thanks so much for a yummy recipe...it's already been added to favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLY in Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Marrying an Arabic man, I have grown to love couscous. But since I am use to having it will a soup, I think this would maybe be really good with a fruit sauce on top. Next time I will also put the apricots, raisins and almonds in while waiting for the milk to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zahra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Great template for a quick breakfast! Definitely add more milk, though, or it will be too dry. Maple syrup was a good sub for the honey and I also added some ground flax. Yum...I want to try this with quinoa too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States