Hot Breakfast Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This breakfast is such a nice change in the morning. I like having hot breakfast in the morning, but I'm usually too lazy to cook. This basically cooks itself, and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I am always looking for new warm breakfast ideas and this one is unique. I like the combination of flavors and textures. I added more honey and I had different dried fruit around the house, but I think it works out the same. Thanks for the new idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Excellent, non-traditional breakfast stuff. We add lots of brown sugar and a bit more milk to make a consistency you could almost drink. Even my very traditional midwest-kinda guy love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYGRWMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I just whipped this up in less than 10 minutes. I used soymilk, whole-wheat couscous, and golden raisins. I think it's perfect! Not too sweet, the dried fruit makes it sweet enough for me. I think it's delicious (and I'm used to my couscous being dry, so I didn't think it needed extra liquid like other reviewers suggested. But it might be yummier that way too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My version: I just made it with water instead of milk (because we were almost out), and, like others, I found it a little bit dry so I added a little more water. I used dried nectarines instead of apricots, and I splashed lots of milk and extra honey on it just before I ate each serving. Absolutely delicious, and a great idea. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very creative and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I LOVED this and I absolutely disagree with the reviewers who said there is not enough liquid. I think they are expecting the couscous to be an oatmeal substitution. I, on the other hand, expected sort of a breakfast "pilaf" and that is exactly what I got. If you want something more like hot cereal then add more liquid. I think the recipe is great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I thought this was WONDERFUL!! I agree with the last post...just add a little more liquid (it's not rocket science!!)Thanks for the recipe. We will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Delish!!! I have been looking for a quick, easy & tasty breakfast, and this is it. What a winner! Here's how I make mine: at night I fix up a mug with 1/4 Cup Couscous, some "Bare Fruit" organic bake-dried cinnamon apple chips (broken up), dried cherries cut into smaller pieces, and chopped walnuts, & cover with some plastic wrap. Then in the morning when I fix my tea I add 1/3 Cup boiling water, recover w/the plastic wrap and let sit 5 minutes. Stir, add a tsp. of sugar (I found that if I add the sugar in the beginning when it cooks, the sweet gets lost and I have to add more), and some milk until it's nice & moist. The milk cools it down too much, so a quick 15 - 20 seconds in the microwave heats it back up. Makes just the right amount for breakfast! I save the plastic and reuse it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Delicious, flexible recipe. I used whole wheat couscous and walnuts and cranberries in place of the suggested dried fruits and nuts. Also, I prefer my hot cereal to have more liquid so I added more milk. Enjoy this fiber-ful breakfast, I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States