Hot Breakfast Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I don't usually like to review a recipe unless I've made it at least once as it's written. But people seem to be critiquing the idea, rather than the specific flavours, so I'm going to break that rule. I think this is wonderful. You can't be expecting oatmeal with a different texture; you have to be expecting a totally different breakfast. It probably also helps to like couscous -- a lot, which I do. I would really recommend trying it, especially if you like hot cereal in the morning. variations: I used chopped dried apples and walnuts and added them after about two minutes of the five, so that the apples reconstituted a little. I poured a little maple syrup and vanilla soy milk (I made it with regular skim) over the top once it was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I really like this. Easy to make and a delicious, nutritious start to the day, especially if you load it with raisins and nuts. Easy to expirement with, using different nuts and fruit, and maybe some granola-esque breakfast cereal ingredients. If you find it too dry you can remedy this with an ancient method called adding more milk. Any time you cook with couscous don't be a slave to the recipe. Trust your intuition and if it's dry add liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I liked the idea of this recipe and I enjoyed it, it just needed more oomph, and more liquid, my couscous was dry and still a bit crunchy so I had to add another 1/2 cup of liquid, but I should maybe have added more. The cinnamon also wasn't "cooked" enough to flavour the milk and there was a powdery taste in the dish. When I make this again I will simmer a cinnamon stick in milk and use a tad more honey than called for to get the flavour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Delish!!! I have been looking for a quick, easy & tasty breakfast, and this is it. What a winner! Here's how I make mine: at night I fix up a mug with 1/4 Cup Couscous, some "Bare Fruit" organic bake-dried cinnamon apple chips (broken up), dried cherries cut into smaller pieces, and chopped walnuts, & cover with some plastic wrap. Then in the morning when I fix my tea I add 1/3 Cup boiling water, recover w/the plastic wrap and let sit 5 minutes. Stir, add a tsp. of sugar (I found that if I add the sugar in the beginning when it cooks, the sweet gets lost and I have to add more), and some milk until it's nice & moist. The milk cools it down too much, so a quick 15 - 20 seconds in the microwave heats it back up. Makes just the right amount for breakfast! I save the plastic and reuse it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I LOVED this and I absolutely disagree with the reviewers who said there is not enough liquid. I think they are expecting the couscous to be an oatmeal substitution. I, on the other hand, expected sort of a breakfast "pilaf" and that is exactly what I got. If you want something more like hot cereal then add more liquid. I think the recipe is great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This has become a portable favourite for me. I work early (5 AM) and by the time I'm ready to eat, just heating this up and smelling the cinnamon and nutmeg wafting through the microwave's vents makes me feel like I'm back in my mom's kitchen. FYI, I usually add vanilla to the milk and shake it before adding it to the couscous to heat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I am always looking for new warm breakfast ideas and this one is unique. I like the combination of flavors and textures. I added more honey and I had different dried fruit around the house, but I think it works out the same. Thanks for the new idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My version: I just made it with water instead of milk (because we were almost out), and, like others, I found it a little bit dry so I added a little more water. I used dried nectarines instead of apricots, and I splashed lots of milk and extra honey on it just before I ate each serving. Absolutely delicious, and a great idea. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I think I was expecting something closer to cream of wheat. What I got was okay, but not great. After sitting for 5 minutes I got a big pot-size lump of couscous. If I make it again I will add more liquid at the beginning. The flavor was very mild so I added a little kosher salt, some more cinnamon and sugar, and then drizzled some maple syrup over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I can see why this recipe would be on a camping menu. It had a very trail mix feel to it. I thought it was very good, I did have to add more milk than what the recipe calls for. It ended up being a little dry after the 5 min, but the flavor was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States