Hot Breakfast Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I am always looking for new warm breakfast ideas and this one is unique. I like the combination of flavors and textures. I added more honey and I had different dried fruit around the house, but I think it works out the same. Thanks for the new idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This has become a portable favourite for me. I work early (5 AM) and by the time I'm ready to eat, just heating this up and smelling the cinnamon and nutmeg wafting through the microwave's vents makes me feel like I'm back in my mom's kitchen. FYI, I usually add vanilla to the milk and shake it before adding it to the couscous to heat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I'm sorry to leave a bad review, but I just didn't care for this. I couldn't even eat more than a few bites. A good idea, but maybe needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was just ok. I halved the recipe and used craisins instead of raisins. In the end, the couscous was VERY dry (I like mine slighly more moist), and I don't feel like the milk really added anything to this dish; water would work just fine (if you're watching fat/calorie intake). It was ok...but I probably won't make it again. On the plus side...it's a very quick warm breakfast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I really like this. Easy to make and a delicious, nutritious start to the day, especially if you load it with raisins and nuts. Easy to expirement with, using different nuts and fruit, and maybe some granola-esque breakfast cereal ingredients. If you find it too dry you can remedy this with an ancient method called adding more milk. Any time you cook with couscous don't be a slave to the recipe. Trust your intuition and if it's dry add liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I do not care for cooked milk. The texture just didn't do it for me. The taste is great though. So, maybe next time I will try juice or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Gave a four because recipe could use just a little tweaking. Definitely needed more milk, probably 3/4 cup more for me. Also added more honey. I guess if your used to sweeter tasting breakfasts like me, adding some sugar-free maple syrup did the trick. Took a moment to get used to the texture but now I love it. After your own personal tweakings, this can be a great new breakfast dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Excellent, non-traditional breakfast stuff. We add lots of brown sugar and a bit more milk to make a consistency you could almost drink. Even my very traditional midwest-kinda guy love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ericka Hiatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I agree with most reviewers that more milk and sweeteners or spices would be helpful. It was not the most exciting recipe ever but people at my potluck enjoyed it... I think I will make it in the future for potlucks with my hippie friends who are really into this kind of thing, but I wouldn't make it for myself. I substituted cranberries for the apricots, which i really liked. I'd say it's a good idea to somewhat increase the amounts of dried fruits and nuts, as well. The biggest issue with the recipe was just that it was somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I just whipped this up in less than 10 minutes. I used soymilk, whole-wheat couscous, and golden raisins. I think it's perfect! Not too sweet, the dried fruit makes it sweet enough for me. I think it's delicious (and I'm used to my couscous being dry, so I didn't think it needed extra liquid like other reviewers suggested. But it might be yummier that way too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States