Hot Breakfast Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Excellent, non-traditional breakfast stuff. We add lots of brown sugar and a bit more milk to make a consistency you could almost drink. Even my very traditional midwest-kinda guy love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYGRWMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Gave a four because recipe could use just a little tweaking. Definitely needed more milk, probably 3/4 cup more for me. Also added more honey. I guess if your used to sweeter tasting breakfasts like me, adding some sugar-free maple syrup did the trick. Took a moment to get used to the texture but now I love it. After your own personal tweakings, this can be a great new breakfast dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I do not care for cooked milk. The texture just didn't do it for me. The taste is great though. So, maybe next time I will try juice or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I really like this. Easy to make and a delicious, nutritious start to the day, especially if you load it with raisins and nuts. Easy to expirement with, using different nuts and fruit, and maybe some granola-esque breakfast cereal ingredients. If you find it too dry you can remedy this with an ancient method called adding more milk. Any time you cook with couscous don't be a slave to the recipe. Trust your intuition and if it's dry add liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was just ok. I halved the recipe and used craisins instead of raisins. In the end, the couscous was VERY dry (I like mine slighly more moist), and I don't feel like the milk really added anything to this dish; water would work just fine (if you're watching fat/calorie intake). It was ok...but I probably won't make it again. On the plus side...it's a very quick warm breakfast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I'm sorry to leave a bad review, but I just didn't care for this. I couldn't even eat more than a few bites. A good idea, but maybe needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This has become a portable favourite for me. I work early (5 AM) and by the time I'm ready to eat, just heating this up and smelling the cinnamon and nutmeg wafting through the microwave's vents makes me feel like I'm back in my mom's kitchen. FYI, I usually add vanilla to the milk and shake it before adding it to the couscous to heat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I am always looking for new warm breakfast ideas and this one is unique. I like the combination of flavors and textures. I added more honey and I had different dried fruit around the house, but I think it works out the same. Thanks for the new idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States