Hot Breakfast Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I thought this was WONDERFUL!! I agree with the last post...just add a little more liquid (it's not rocket science!!)Thanks for the recipe. We will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I LOVED this and I absolutely disagree with the reviewers who said there is not enough liquid. I think they are expecting the couscous to be an oatmeal substitution. I, on the other hand, expected sort of a breakfast "pilaf" and that is exactly what I got. If you want something more like hot cereal then add more liquid. I think the recipe is great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This breakfast is such a nice change in the morning. I like having hot breakfast in the morning, but I'm usually too lazy to cook. This basically cooks itself, and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Delicious! I used chopped up fresh apple with the no skin and I let that boil with the milk for a minute before I put the couscous in. I too think it could use a little more milk but have no problem putting it on after its all cooked up with a little drizzle of honey. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very creative and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I love this recipe! I've made it several times now and although I've never made the full 8 servings and I use soy milk instead of cow milk, I'm finding time after time that I need TWO parts soy milk to one part couscous. Otherwise, just like other users say, it's way too dry. As for cinnamon, honey, and other additives, I add them to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I liked the idea of this recipe and I enjoyed it, it just needed more oomph, and more liquid, my couscous was dry and still a bit crunchy so I had to add another 1/2 cup of liquid, but I should maybe have added more. The cinnamon also wasn't "cooked" enough to flavour the milk and there was a powdery taste in the dish. When I make this again I will simmer a cinnamon stick in milk and use a tad more honey than called for to get the flavour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is a quick and easy recipe. It is something a little different than the same old thing. I put dried mixed berries and pecans in mine. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I think I was expecting something closer to cream of wheat. What I got was okay, but not great. After sitting for 5 minutes I got a big pot-size lump of couscous. If I make it again I will add more liquid at the beginning. The flavor was very mild so I added a little kosher salt, some more cinnamon and sugar, and then drizzled some maple syrup over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Yummy and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States