Hot Breakfast Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was good but dry. Needs more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Delish!!! I have been looking for a quick, easy & tasty breakfast, and this is it. What a winner! Here's how I make mine: at night I fix up a mug with 1/4 Cup Couscous, some "Bare Fruit" organic bake-dried cinnamon apple chips (broken up), dried cherries cut into smaller pieces, and chopped walnuts, & cover with some plastic wrap. Then in the morning when I fix my tea I add 1/3 Cup boiling water, recover w/the plastic wrap and let sit 5 minutes. Stir, add a tsp. of sugar (I found that if I add the sugar in the beginning when it cooks, the sweet gets lost and I have to add more), and some milk until it's nice & moist. The milk cools it down too much, so a quick 15 - 20 seconds in the microwave heats it back up. Makes just the right amount for breakfast! I save the plastic and reuse it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I thought this was WONDERFUL!! I agree with the last post...just add a little more liquid (it's not rocket science!!)Thanks for the recipe. We will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I LOVED this and I absolutely disagree with the reviewers who said there is not enough liquid. I think they are expecting the couscous to be an oatmeal substitution. I, on the other hand, expected sort of a breakfast "pilaf" and that is exactly what I got. If you want something more like hot cereal then add more liquid. I think the recipe is great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This breakfast is such a nice change in the morning. I like having hot breakfast in the morning, but I'm usually too lazy to cook. This basically cooks itself, and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Delicious! I used chopped up fresh apple with the no skin and I let that boil with the milk for a minute before I put the couscous in. I too think it could use a little more milk but have no problem putting it on after its all cooked up with a little drizzle of honey. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very creative and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I love this recipe! I've made it several times now and although I've never made the full 8 servings and I use soy milk instead of cow milk, I'm finding time after time that I need TWO parts soy milk to one part couscous. Otherwise, just like other users say, it's way too dry. As for cinnamon, honey, and other additives, I add them to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I liked the idea of this recipe and I enjoyed it, it just needed more oomph, and more liquid, my couscous was dry and still a bit crunchy so I had to add another 1/2 cup of liquid, but I should maybe have added more. The cinnamon also wasn't "cooked" enough to flavour the milk and there was a powdery taste in the dish. When I make this again I will simmer a cinnamon stick in milk and use a tad more honey than called for to get the flavour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is a quick and easy recipe. It is something a little different than the same old thing. I put dried mixed berries and pecans in mine. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States