Hot Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Thanks for the idea! Was looking for a quick, hot and nutritious lunch. I didn't have the exact beans called for, so used a mix of pinto, navy and great northern. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I did change it quite a bit, but without the original I would have been lost. Amazing soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This soup is really easy and delicious. I do recommend adding the extra seasonings other reviewers have recommended if you like a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This soup is delicious! I gave it 4 only because I changed it a little. I double it and to make it simple, used 1 can of pinto beans and 3 cans off garbanzo beans. I used 4 cups of chicken broth rather than the water and bouillon. As for seasoning I used 2 tsp of onion powder, 1 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cumin along with the recommended hot sauce. It was just enough seasoning to give it a hint of flavour without overwhelming the beans. So quick! Yumm! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
As suggested I added a bit of onion powder, garlic powder and cumin, as well as the hot sauce. The soup was easy to prepare and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
all I added was some bacon salt. the kids loved it too! they called it "rockstar soup". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Super fast! I mad a few changes... Added half the water, used garlic powder, ancho chili pepper, and some fresh cilantro. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I changed this recipe a bit and it tasted great! I made 4x the recipe and froze it in portions to be eaten with future dinner. I used canned white beans instead of pinto beans (that's what I had), I omitted the hot sauce and added some freshly minced garlic and some cumin. Once cooked I pureed the soup with my immersion blender. This soup couldn't be any easier! Just opening up some cans - and no chopping!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Not bad for a very quick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Following Linda Mclean's lead, I added garlic powder, onion powder, and cumin. I didn't add any chili powder because I didn't want it to taste *exactly* like chili "broth." It was okay; I enjoyed it. After tasting, I felt the need to add more hot sauce. At the amount called for in the recipe, I couldn't discern any hot sauce flavor at all. I added another five or six shakes of hot sauce. Spiced up, this is a somewhat tasty (and healthy) recipe. As written, it is somewhat ordinary. Because this is healthy, easy to prepare, and tasty, I will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States