Hot Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Thanks for the idea! Was looking for a quick, hot and nutritious lunch. I didn't have the exact beans called for, so used a mix of pinto, navy and great northern. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I did change it quite a bit, but without the original I would have been lost. Amazing soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This soup is really easy and delicious. I do recommend adding the extra seasonings other reviewers have recommended if you like a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This soup is delicious! I gave it 4 only because I changed it a little. I double it and to make it simple, used 1 can of pinto beans and 3 cans off garbanzo beans. I used 4 cups of chicken broth rather than the water and bouillon. As for seasoning I used 2 tsp of onion powder, 1 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cumin along with the recommended hot sauce. It was just enough seasoning to give it a hint of flavour without overwhelming the beans. So quick! Yumm! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
As suggested I added a bit of onion powder, garlic powder and cumin, as well as the hot sauce. The soup was easy to prepare and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
all I added was some bacon salt. the kids loved it too! they called it "rockstar soup". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Super fast! I mad a few changes... Added half the water, used garlic powder, ancho chili pepper, and some fresh cilantro. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I changed this recipe a bit and it tasted great! I made 4x the recipe and froze it in portions to be eaten with future dinner. I used canned white beans instead of pinto beans (that's what I had), I omitted the hot sauce and added some freshly minced garlic and some cumin. Once cooked I pureed the soup with my immersion blender. This soup couldn't be any easier! Just opening up some cans - and no chopping!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Not bad for a very quick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Following Linda Mclean's lead, I added garlic powder, onion powder, and cumin. I didn't add any chili powder because I didn't want it to taste *exactly* like chili "broth." It was okay; I enjoyed it. After tasting, I felt the need to add more hot sauce. At the amount called for in the recipe, I couldn't discern any hot sauce flavor at all. I added another five or six shakes of hot sauce. Spiced up, this is a somewhat tasty (and healthy) recipe. As written, it is somewhat ordinary. Because this is healthy, easy to prepare, and tasty, I will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States