Hot Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
As written, this soup would have been way too bland for me, but I liked the idea. With the following additions, which included, garlic and onion powders, cumin, chili powder, paprika and low sodium, fat free chicken broth, it was just about perfect. I ran the beans thru my food processor before adding them to the liquid. Good start and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This soup prompted me to become a member just so I could comment on it! It was simple, delicious, and a great source of fiber! Because I use it in almost all my soups, I added a dash of garlic powder. A bit of carrot or celery might be nice as well. Thanks for a great quick soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
As suggested I added a bit of onion powder, garlic powder and cumin, as well as the hot sauce. The soup was easy to prepare and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I changed this recipe a bit and it tasted great! I made 4x the recipe and froze it in portions to be eaten with future dinner. I used canned white beans instead of pinto beans (that's what I had), I omitted the hot sauce and added some freshly minced garlic and some cumin. Once cooked I pureed the soup with my immersion blender. This soup couldn't be any easier! Just opening up some cans - and no chopping!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I did change it quite a bit, but without the original I would have been lost. Amazing soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This soup is delicious! I gave it 4 only because I changed it a little. I double it and to make it simple, used 1 can of pinto beans and 3 cans off garbanzo beans. I used 4 cups of chicken broth rather than the water and bouillon. As for seasoning I used 2 tsp of onion powder, 1 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp of cumin along with the recommended hot sauce. It was just enough seasoning to give it a hint of flavour without overwhelming the beans. So quick! Yumm! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
all I added was some bacon salt. the kids loved it too! they called it "rockstar soup". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Following Linda Mclean's lead, I added garlic powder, onion powder, and cumin. I didn't add any chili powder because I didn't want it to taste *exactly* like chili "broth." It was okay; I enjoyed it. After tasting, I felt the need to add more hot sauce. At the amount called for in the recipe, I couldn't discern any hot sauce flavor at all. I added another five or six shakes of hot sauce. Spiced up, this is a somewhat tasty (and healthy) recipe. As written, it is somewhat ordinary. Because this is healthy, easy to prepare, and tasty, I will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Super fast! I mad a few changes... Added half the water, used garlic powder, ancho chili pepper, and some fresh cilantro. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Thanks for the idea! Was looking for a quick, hot and nutritious lunch. I didn't have the exact beans called for, so used a mix of pinto, navy and great northern. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States