Hot Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe. I have made this many times. You will need the whole package of taco seasoning for more flavor, get mild and it won't be hot. Make sure to soften the cream cheese in the microwave and stir the sour cream and cream cheese with the taco seasoning well before mixing in the refried beans. I double and make a 9x13 dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Delicious! This makes a ton of dip though. You'd better be feeding a crowd or do what I did; Keep the topping cheese separate from the mixed dip and dish out about 8-16 oz (a dip size portion) into a small microwave dish. Heat the dip up then put an appropriate portion of the two cheese topping on the top. Cover for a couple of minutes to melt the cheese. Don't heat the dip up with the cheese on it. The cheese ends up all melting into the dip and disappearing. You can dish the refrigerated dip and cheese out for several nights as leftovers. Oh I used a whole package of the taco mix and used pepperjack cheese instead of the monterey. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee. Yummmy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This dip was OK. I have to admit I've made better on my own with no recipe. My husband is a HUGE bean dip fan and he didn't care for it. It's definitely creamy, but I would not put the cheese on top. It just creates a rubber crust on the top when it cools. Kept breaking chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
I mixed everything in the food processor -- beans, cream cheese, onions, etc. The dip had a real smooth texture, and it disappeared at the function that I took it to, so it must have been a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Northwest N.J.'s first white Christmas since l969 and it was a good one! Fortnately we had the whole family over for Christmas Eve and my thirteen year old daughter Tyler decided to give this dip a try. She was happy to see that this delicious appetizer was gobbled up by everyone. The only change I'll make next time is to add a couple of cans of green chiles and some cayenne to kick it up a bit. Thanks Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Fantastic dip that got lots of compliments! It also performs well using fat-free beans, sour cream, and low-fat cream cheese so that's an added plus! I added an entire pack of the McCormick "hot" taco seasoning, and also spread a jar of medium taco sauce over the top of the cheese before baking to give it more of a kick. I would recommend that you use one and a half cans of beans instead of two so the beans don't overwhelm the cheeses and the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Big hit at this year's Superbowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
What a great bean dip recipe. My family & party guests loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be extremely kid friendly however if you would like to increase the "heat" you easily could do so with chilis, spices etc. This is a great recipe and I urge you to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
What a hit! It makes a ton - so I usually freeze half before cooking it - then when I want it again it is all set to pop in the oven. I also added jalopenos for extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
The dip didn't go over so well. I expected it to have more flavor but it still tasted pretty much like beans. I would recommend maybe more taco seasoning and more hot pepper sauce. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States