Hot Banana Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I love this Salsa...except I make mine with Avocados. Very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyCortney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Oh yea! eating it right now :D good heat and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsloverii

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
It was great, will use more banana next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
REALLY loved this! I used poblano instead of green pepper and left out the habanero. I also used shallot and fresh chive flowers in place of the green onion. The purple was very pretty in it. Served this with Oprahs coconut risotto ( made with coconut rum instead of wine) and grilled jerk shrimp. A gourmet night in Jamaica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
love love love - awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wvkimmy2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Yum! My husband was downright scared of this experiment, even though he loves apple salsa and watermelon salsa. But when he tasted it, he loved it. TIP: Make the salsa without the banana ahead of time to allow the flavors to mingle. If you make it very much ahead of time, you might even wait on the cilantro. Then add the banana/cilantro sometime during the last hour - might be able to stand another banana at that - at least another half, and our banana was not small. OTHER CHANGES NEXT TIME? The fresh ginger I used had been peeled for a little while, so maybe that's the reason, but we could barely taste the ginger, even after allowing it to sit for a bit. So we'll put in the called for amount, allow to sit a bit, and then season to taste as needed. Happened to throw in a banana pepper, and that was a hit, but would add several. Had no habanero, & only added a touch of jalapeno. Spice doesn't come through this terribly fast....... (used one slice of pickled jalapeno with a good bit of juice, no heat, my husband liked it anyway though he likes heat). Only put in 2 T of cilantro, and that not ahead of time. That was just right for those of us who think that cilantro tastes like soap (which is a genetic thing, I hear tell). A bit of rice, a bit of fish, and a lot of Caribbean Cole Slaw (from this site) and all these veggies in this salsa made a plate of full of yum without guilt. Anyway, thanks for another fun recipe! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
five star...because its easy and works well white fish. Adds color to garlic mashers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitesetter

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Followed others advise and only added bananas prior to serving. Other than that followed recipe exactly. There was not one drop left over !! Was served as a regular salsa with lime chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! We made this recipe for a Jamaican themed party and everyone loved it! We spooned the salsa over jerk chicken and grilled turkey burgers! Since a habanero pepper seemed a little to hot we subbed a jalepeno. This salsa will definitely be on our menu this spring/summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Very good, but slimy if stirred too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States