Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I am the same way. I work at an applebee's and we have a hot bacon dressing to die for and after searching for anything remotely close and coming up with nothing, I came across this recipe. I just made it and it's quick and easy and exactly what I was looking for. Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaded

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: South Heart, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Yummy dressing. I thought it might be a bit too sweet so I cut the sugar to 1 cup and doubled up on the bacon. Perfect! Thanks Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
After trying several Hot Bacon Dressing recipies over the past few months, I think we finally found a winner! My husband loved the flavor, and I was happy with the ingredient list and ease of preparation. It even re-heated very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This is a very tasty dressing and I served it over spinach salad. My family said it was a keeper. I changed a couple things as I was making this recipe. I only used 3/4 cup sugar and added 2 tbsp. bacon drippings as suggested by another reviewer. I also read reviews on this recipe saying it became very thick. I don't believe this is suppose to be a thick dressing. I cooked the dressing over medium heat, stirring contantly until the sugar was melted and continued cooking for only a couple minutes more. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Delicious! The only thing I do different it cut up the bacon before I fry it. That way I don't have to crumble. It seperates as it fries and the quality is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Oh so good! I cut back on the sugar a bit and just stirred until I was happy with the consistency. This is terrific on spinach salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I found that the recipe wasn't specific enough and didn't explain when to stop reducing. I ended up with bacon caramel. It might have been me being a twit, but I usually don't have trouble doing a recipe for the first time. More detail would be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKALEA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I have finally found the recipe I have been looking for. My Grandparents always made this every spring with dandelion, but no one has ever written it down. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
This took a little time to prepare, but was well worth it. When you get so tired of the traditional "store bought" dressings, this is a different and yet tasty dressing. Our family enjoyed it on a regular salad! Thanks for the recipe! Its under our "favorites'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watkinsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
As a restaurant owner/chef I can tell you that this is a recipe easily done to your taste. I use 1/2 cup Splenda and one Tbl. of sugar, as we have high risk for diabetes. It's ok to sprinkle precooked bacon to top, but finely chopped, thin bacon cooked well gives you the base you need. I remove bacon and drain, adding to the grease finely diced sweet onion (vidalia or Texas A&M 1016?) I strain off all but 1/4 cup grease. Too much sugar will turn thick or candied if not watched carefully. Melt sugar over low heat, then bring to a boil. Once boiling, remove from fire. If you want it thicker, place on heat and add cornstarch at 1/4 tsp at a time, waiting for thickening to happen. I add apple cider vinegar at the end, one Tbl or less at a time. You can always add more but you can't remove easily. Write it down when perfect for you. Sugar or Splenda can be added to taste. We used this dressing over mixed greens, spinach chiffonade, diced white meat chicken, thin sliced almonds or slivered, and fresh quartered strawberries. This way, you get protein, greens, nuts and sweet. I have the world's best Poppyseed Dressing which I use over mixed greens, diced chicken, Craisins, sliced almonds, finely diced onions. Yes, I share. It's great over mixed fruit also. Melon balls, cantaloupe, kiwi, grapes, strawberries....but pick your fav. Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States