Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
awesome recipe if you cut down on the sugar, as other people have mentioned. I used 1 cup and it was plenty sweet. I may use even a little less next time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krispy6372

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I think this was a good base for a recipe but was a little bland and very sweet. I guess I reduced it too much b/c it was very sticky and hard once it cooled. Next time I will definitely half the sugar and add onion and maybe some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Good recipe....just like I remember from childhood. I did cut the sugar back to 1 cup. I liked it, but no one else in my family did. They thought it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
great dressing., but too sweet. Just cut the sugar in half and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We LOVED this dressing...it is just like the one from Applebee's. I took the advice from other reviewers and reduced the sugar. I used 3/4 cup of sugar, and 2 tsp of corn starch, and I think the sweetness was perfect...not too vinegary and not too sweet. I think any more sugar would have been too sweet. We also added about 1/2 of a sauteed onion. We are DEFINITELY making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was the first time I made hot bacon dressing for a spinach salad I made for New Years Eve dinner. It was great. I followed the other reviewers suggestions and cut the sugar in half and used only 2 tbsp of cornstarch. This made it less sweet and more of a thin consistency. It was really great. My boyfriend was in absolute HEAVEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this for a client dinner and had 3 people ask me how I made the amazing dressing. It was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nocona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I used an equal amount of white sugar and cider vinegar. Cubed and boiled a red potato and mixed that with the bacon dressing. Then I mixed in baby spinach and wilted it with the warm dressing & potatoes. This salad tasted like German Potato Salad but with the added spinach nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Really good on a simple spinach salad. I will definitely make it again. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup. I also added the liquid mixture to the pan I cooked the bacon in (leaving the drippings in the pan). I then added the crispy bacon to the salad. This makes WAY more than I needed for a salad for 4 people. I will halve it next time for the same size salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made this dressing for a green bean and tomato salad for a brunch. Everyone loved it and could not stop eating it. I might use a little less sugar though and a bit more cornstarch as mine did not thicken up as much as I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States