Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
awesome recipe if you cut down on the sugar, as other people have mentioned. I used 1 cup and it was plenty sweet. I may use even a little less next time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krispy6372

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I think this was a good base for a recipe but was a little bland and very sweet. I guess I reduced it too much b/c it was very sticky and hard once it cooled. Next time I will definitely half the sugar and add onion and maybe some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Good recipe....just like I remember from childhood. I did cut the sugar back to 1 cup. I liked it, but no one else in my family did. They thought it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
great dressing., but too sweet. Just cut the sugar in half and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We LOVED this dressing...it is just like the one from Applebee's. I took the advice from other reviewers and reduced the sugar. I used 3/4 cup of sugar, and 2 tsp of corn starch, and I think the sweetness was perfect...not too vinegary and not too sweet. I think any more sugar would have been too sweet. We also added about 1/2 of a sauteed onion. We are DEFINITELY making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was the first time I made hot bacon dressing for a spinach salad I made for New Years Eve dinner. It was great. I followed the other reviewers suggestions and cut the sugar in half and used only 2 tbsp of cornstarch. This made it less sweet and more of a thin consistency. It was really great. My boyfriend was in absolute HEAVEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this for a client dinner and had 3 people ask me how I made the amazing dressing. It was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nocona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I used an equal amount of white sugar and cider vinegar. Cubed and boiled a red potato and mixed that with the bacon dressing. Then I mixed in baby spinach and wilted it with the warm dressing & potatoes. This salad tasted like German Potato Salad but with the added spinach nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Really good on a simple spinach salad. I will definitely make it again. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup. I also added the liquid mixture to the pan I cooked the bacon in (leaving the drippings in the pan). I then added the crispy bacon to the salad. This makes WAY more than I needed for a salad for 4 people. I will halve it next time for the same size salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made this dressing for a green bean and tomato salad for a brunch. Everyone loved it and could not stop eating it. I might use a little less sugar though and a bit more cornstarch as mine did not thicken up as much as I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States