Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I used apple cider vinegar and it tastes just like my mom and grandma used to make!! It is great on fried potatoes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
THIS IS EXCELLENT!! I used Splenda instead of sugar..and made a green salad and topped it with steamed shrimp just like applebees does and it was as close to perfect as it can be...delicious!!! Thanks so much for sharing. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I did lower the amount of sugar to only one cup (instead of 1 1/2 cups). After I started to heat it I felt there was too much bacon so I just made another batch of the dressing....worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Best hot bacon dressing I've ever had! My husband is not a salad eater, but he had a few bowls full with this dressing! Will make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDavis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Just what I was looking for. First tasted this at Applebees and then went searching for the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I substitute the cider vinegar for red wine vinegar, red onion slices sauteed with the sliced mushrooms in the leftover bacon grease briefly to tenderize. I add croutons and sliced boiled egg to the spinach. You have to wait until the last minute before serving and toss the dressing quickly so the spinach won't be so mushy. This is called wilted salad dressing also because when tossed hot on lettuce or spinach, it wilts the leaves. The options are endless for whatever you like in your spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
We mmm'd and aaah'd our way through a wonderful spinach salad, and the dressing did taste great. That being said, this recipe is just too sweet for our tastes to use again without a big modification to the sweetener aspect - even though I cut back on the sugar to 1 cup (and added a dollop of honey). Next time I'll use half a cup raw sugar, 1/4 cup honey. Of course I may have to experiment with adding a bit more water & cornstarch to get the consistency right, but that's what us kitchen mad scientists live for... Thanks, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dewitt, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe! I did cheat and use the "real bacon" from the jar and it was still great! I can only imagine how good it would have been with fresh bacon. I do wonder how long it would last in the refrigerator? I'd like to make it Sunday night and eat it all week, but I don't know if it would go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Looking for Applebee's recipe? You Found It! Excellent! A wonderful true to taste recipe. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi Rowe
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This recipe is so simple to make and tastes fantastic. Makes me want to eat more spinach salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States