Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is really good. I made it with Spenda as I am doing lower carb but it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Great! However, I doubled the bacon, added a half cup of small diced onion, 1 clove of garlic substituted cider vinegar and cut the amount of corn starch. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
exactly what I was looking for! Heats up easily and tastes even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is good. I decided to make this when I had fresh spinach and knew (rather, thought) I had a few slices of bacon in the refrigerator. When I got everything out, I realized the bacon was a little too old and couldn't be used. I decided to go ahead, and as a testament to just how good this recipe is, I simply added "real bacon" bacon bits once the dressing was heated through and it was still very good. I can only imagine how much better it would be with real cooked bacon. Some may find it a bit sweet, but I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
As a restaurant owner/chef I can tell you that this is a recipe easily done to your taste. I use 1/2 cup Splenda and one Tbl. of sugar, as we have high risk for diabetes. It's ok to sprinkle precooked bacon to top, but finely chopped, thin bacon cooked well gives you the base you need. I remove bacon and drain, adding to the grease finely diced sweet onion (vidalia or Texas A&M 1016?) I strain off all but 1/4 cup grease. Too much sugar will turn thick or candied if not watched carefully. Melt sugar over low heat, then bring to a boil. Once boiling, remove from fire. If you want it thicker, place on heat and add cornstarch at 1/4 tsp at a time, waiting for thickening to happen. I add apple cider vinegar at the end, one Tbl or less at a time. You can always add more but you can't remove easily. Write it down when perfect for you. Sugar or Splenda can be added to taste. We used this dressing over mixed greens, spinach chiffonade, diced white meat chicken, thin sliced almonds or slivered, and fresh quartered strawberries. This way, you get protein, greens, nuts and sweet. I have the world's best Poppyseed Dressing which I use over mixed greens, diced chicken, Craisins, sliced almonds, finely diced onions. Yes, I share. It's great over mixed fruit also. Melon balls, cantaloupe, kiwi, grapes, strawberries....but pick your fav. Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Made this per the recipe, except I used about 5 slice of bacon, and a little less salt. Turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I wasn't really a fan of Hot Bacon Dressing but I knew my husband liked it. This was fantastic. Even my 3, 5, and 7 year olds loved it. Will make this again and again. Pimientos not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Used one cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups but was still very sweet. I used this on a dandelion salad so this dressing helped offset the bitterness. I will make this again using even less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Too sweet. I cut the sugar by 1/3 and it was still too sweet. I would use half the sugar and twice the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States