Hot as Hell Hickory Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Love, love these beans! I make them weekly for lunches at work. I've added a little of whatever kind of meat I have on hand....smoked sausage, pulled pork, ham, or even turkey bacon. Fabulous and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great, great recipe. I did not soak ours overnight. I put the dried (washed) beans in my pressure cooker with 4 cups of water and cooked on high for 30 minutes. Perfect texture. Next I added in 1 can RoTel diced tomatoes with habaneros (hot) undrained, 1tsp salt, 1tsp black pepper and 1/2 cup BBQ sauce. The onion powder, garlic powder and liquid smoke as written. Boy, these babies are HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Made as stated except that I added 7 oz green chilis and only 2 TB chopped jalapenos. It still turned out pretty spicy but very tolerable. The flavor was good but nothing to write home about. We will eat these for the next few days (it makes a lot!) but I will likely not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
added chicken breast and this was awesome, keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I loved the sound of this recipe, and couldn't wait to try it. I did balk at the idea of an entire 7 oz. can of jalapenos, though, and used someone else's idea of chipotle chilis in adobo, and in a lesser amount. I changed a few things,such as using Ro-Tel, rather than plain tomatoes, and used fresh onions. We loved the beans, and the "bite".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Amazing beans! Please don't let the reviews that say this is too spicy keep you from trying this great recipe...just adjust it to your own liking....you won't be sorry. I am from NM, so I have chile running through my veins..lol. I always have NM roasted green chile in my freezer...so I added about 4-5 chopped green chiles and the result was wonderful! I do like jalapenos, but I prefer using green chiles...thanks for submitting this great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I love this recipe!!! It's such a versatile side dish and can go with just about anything. I've seen a lot of people talk about how this dish is too hot and I have to disagree. PLEASE NOTE: Peppers are a subjective ingredient in ANY recipe and THE AMOUNT MUST BE ADJUSTED TO TASTE. If you DO NOT like a lot of heat, try substituting green chiles with 1-2 chopped and seeded jalapenos. Also note that THERE ARE SEVERAL VARIETIES OF JARRED JALAPENOS. Try finding ones labeled as mild, pickled, or seeded to reduce the heat. To me and my family, jalapenos are more tangy than hot and we usually add in some additional chipotles with adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Hot as Hell is right! Holy WOW! These have great flavor but I do recommend cutting back on the jalapeno peppers if you want to be able to taste that great flavor instead of tasting what a tongue engulfed in flames tastes like. Again, excellent flavor and we do like hot but I will scale down on the peppers a bit next time. Thanks for the great recipe Flyineggbeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Fantastic but be ready for hot, I cut the jalepenos in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
instead of the can of jalepenos and the liquid smoke have you tried chilis in adobo. Ibelieve this will give the hot but the adobo a bit of a smoother taste. Walmart usually stocks this item
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States