Hot Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Made this twice for two different Thanksgiving crowds, with and without heavy whip cream. HEAVY WHIPPING CREAM MAKES THIS DISH!!! Don't sub anything low-cal, if you're trying to watch your fat calories, go eat a carrot. Also, I took the suggestion of sprinkling more cheese on top and putting it under the broiler for a few minutes; it looks a lot more appealing this way. (But delicious either way). Thanks for a wonderful appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
OMG! This is the BEST dip ever! Great hot or cold...I've made this at least 10 times in the last 3 months or so, and it's always a hit. I always substitute a big jalapeno (or 2 small ones) for the pimentos, and add a couple cloves of freshly minced garlic. Also, I squeeze the juice of one lemon into the mix before baking. You can substitute a bunch of chives for the green onions for extra flavor - if not, I recommend just using a small bunch of green onions, instead of just 2 TBSP of them. If you like seafood, add a 6ox. can of flaked crabmeat - YUMMY! I always serve these with Tostitos lime flavored chips, and usually make a double-batch because it goes so quickly! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Yummy. I added chopped green chilies in place of the pimento and it was very good. Served in a sourdough bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Very yummy recipe. To cut down on the fat, you can use evaporated skim milk in lieu of the heavy cream. I personally don't recommend low fat mayo. Hey, it's probably a party anyway so have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Made as written except substituted finely chopped jalapenos for the pimento. The dish was practically licked clean by co-workers within the first 20 minutes of a potluck lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My family always asks me to make this at all of our family gatherings. So yummy! One word of caution, only use quality parmesan cheese! The cheaper brand cheese will really affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Good recipe but next time I will add a touch of jalapeno peppers for a spark. It was kind of on the bland side to me but still tasty. I served it on toasted sourdough cocktail bread and think that is the only "dipper" I would use for this dip. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This is great served in Hawaiian Bread- available almost anywhere. Cut a large core into the loaf for the dip, spray with olive oil before stuffing with dip. Use the remaining bread as "croutons", cubing and lightly toasting them. I added just a PINCH of crushed red pepper flakes when blending the cheese. GREAT presentation! Dust with paprika to add color. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Very good! I used light mayonaise because that's all I had and it was still good. I prefer it without the pimentos. Great anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
This was a very easy and tasty appetizer. I served it with thick cut tortilla chips and everyone raved. I used a combination of asigo and parmesan chesses and sprinkled some on top to bake. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States