Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
not bad. Although I reed the other reviews so I doubled the garlic and red pepper. A little bland still, but good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
while this recipe was good as is, it was hardly "hot and sour". I agree with the other reviewers that this was a little bland... It could have definitely used a little more red pepper. Next time I will also try adding a little bit more vinegar in the end to give it some "zing". and I will probably add a little bit more soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elyseholly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This recipe is perfect as is. My husband and I make it at least twice a month and we don't alter it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I also added more garlic, ginger and red pepper flakes. I used rice vinegar; since it is milder I might add a tsp or two more next time. Served it with rice made Asian style--no salt, so next time instead of water I will use a cup of beef broth to give it a flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seward, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Utica, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I really liked this recipe, but I accidently used low-sodium soy sauce which I think may have made it not so yummy. Next time I'll use the regular one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was pretty blah. I added ginger, more garlic, chili sauce, and red bell peppers, and while it was pretty and smelled good, it just didn't really do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Made as written, this was extremely boring and lacking flavor. Like others, I added more red pepper and garlic, and some ground ginger too. It still wasn't that great. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Hmm. I don't know if it was the cut of meat I used or what, but this wasn't very flavorful. Maybe I was just expecting something different. It wasn't very hot, to me, and I doubled the red pepper and quadrupled the garlic. The broccoli tastes fine, it's just the meat that isn't super. Next time, I'll use flank or skirt steak and I'll see if it turns out tasting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
As written, pretty bland. With some fixing-up, however, it was delicious! I tripled the garlic, added 2 tsp. minced fresh ginger, 1 tsp. beef bouillon (to the sauce), extra 1/4 tsp. red pepper, and another tablespoon or so of soy sauce. Also used round steak, which was much more tender and less fatty than sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
We added ½ tsp. garlic chili sauce & 1 tsp. fresh ginger & allowed the beef to marinate for most of the afternoon. As other reviews have suggested, add any type of vegetable you like – the recipe only gets better. We also added a little extra ginger & garlic chili sauce to the vegetables. Several have said adding vinegar doesn’t seem to help but I disagree. We used rice wine vinegar which is a terrific addition. Served with steamed rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Slow Cooker Broccoli Beef

A delicious set-it-and-forget-it broccoli beef dish!

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States