Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I really liked this recipe, but I accidently used low-sodium soy sauce which I think may have made it not so yummy. Next time I'll use the regular one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was pretty blah. I added ginger, more garlic, chili sauce, and red bell peppers, and while it was pretty and smelled good, it just didn't really do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Made as written, this was extremely boring and lacking flavor. Like others, I added more red pepper and garlic, and some ground ginger too. It still wasn't that great. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Hmm. I don't know if it was the cut of meat I used or what, but this wasn't very flavorful. Maybe I was just expecting something different. It wasn't very hot, to me, and I doubled the red pepper and quadrupled the garlic. The broccoli tastes fine, it's just the meat that isn't super. Next time, I'll use flank or skirt steak and I'll see if it turns out tasting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
As written, pretty bland. With some fixing-up, however, it was delicious! I tripled the garlic, added 2 tsp. minced fresh ginger, 1 tsp. beef bouillon (to the sauce), extra 1/4 tsp. red pepper, and another tablespoon or so of soy sauce. Also used round steak, which was much more tender and less fatty than sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
We added ½ tsp. garlic chili sauce & 1 tsp. fresh ginger & allowed the beef to marinate for most of the afternoon. As other reviews have suggested, add any type of vegetable you like – the recipe only gets better. We also added a little extra ginger & garlic chili sauce to the vegetables. Several have said adding vinegar doesn’t seem to help but I disagree. We used rice wine vinegar which is a terrific addition. Served with steamed rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This recipe results in a deep, rich, flavorful sauce. Just the right amount of heat and sourness. Hubby raves every time I fix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Hubby and I love this recipe! I don't find that the stated amount of vinegar adds a lot, though, I double it to get that little extra zing. It's great for when I come home after work and don't feel like spending any major time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
We loved it! I did make a few changes after reading the other reviews. I added 2 cloves of garlic, used 3/4 of a table spoon red pepper, chili oil instead of vegtable oil, used red, yellow & orange peppers instead of broc. and put over rice. The original recipe creates enough sauce which is nice with the rice. This definitely had flavored...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I've made this recipe several times. It's a great recipe to play with. I sometimes add carrots or snowpeas, or whatever is on hand. I like things spicy, so I up the red pepper to 1 teaspoon, put in lots of garlic and add chopped fresh ginger. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States