Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
As written, pretty bland. With some fixing-up, however, it was delicious! I tripled the garlic, added 2 tsp. minced fresh ginger, 1 tsp. beef bouillon (to the sauce), extra 1/4 tsp. red pepper, and another tablespoon or so of soy sauce. Also used round steak, which was much more tender and less fatty than sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I find I rely on stir fries like this a lot when I’m headed out of town (again) and I need something quick, nutritious, delicious and puts to good use the produce in the fridge I don’t want to go to waste. (In this case the broccoli and mushrooms I used made their way from Florida to Wisconsin before it all finally ended up on our plates) This “Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef” was just what I was after. We can do the “tangy,” however, because of Hubs sensitive innards we can’t do the “hot,” so I had to leave out the red pepper flakes. It didn’t make a difference – this was plenty good without it. Mushrooms filled in for the onion because, again, I’m leaving town again in the morning and wanted to use them up. But they couldn’t have been a better choice had they been written into the recipe. Other than that substitution I followed the recipe fairly closely, only substituting peanut oil for the vegetable oil. We try to monitor our carbs (especially after a couple weeks worth of pasta in Italy!) so I served this over “Miracle Rice,” described as “Shirataki rice, guilt free rice, zero calories, soy free, gluten free, made in the USA.” It is expensive, smells foul, looks unnatural and tastes like nothing. I’d highly recommend substituting a little bit of rice or nothing at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Good dish, though not the taste I was looking for. Not as sweet as the usual order out I get, but still very very good, and something I'll remake. I used less broccoli and still had tons leftover, so modifyig the amount of broccoli used is a per person thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
My Beef and Broccoli fanatic husband loved this! I only changed one thing, I added a little ginger with the garlic. The only difference to me was that the broccoli tasted much fresher and was crunchier then from the restaurant, nothing wrong with that! Love this, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coellofamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I loved this! I didn't use any vinegar, mostly becasue I don't like it, and also, I just forgot:) It turned out really tasty. I would add more garlic and red pepper flakes next time. I actually liked how it wasn't super sweet. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This recipe is fool-proof, and very tasty. I felt it was better then most good restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I've made this recipe several times. It's a great recipe to play with. I sometimes add carrots or snowpeas, or whatever is on hand. I like things spicy, so I up the red pepper to 1 teaspoon, put in lots of garlic and add chopped fresh ginger. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
while this recipe was good as is, it was hardly "hot and sour". I agree with the other reviewers that this was a little bland... It could have definitely used a little more red pepper. Next time I will also try adding a little bit more vinegar in the end to give it some "zing". and I will probably add a little bit more soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elyseholly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was great! I added a bit more red pepper and sugar and forgot the vinegar, but I think the vinegar would have made it better. Everyone at work wanted the recipe just from smelling the left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
We loved it definetly double up on garlic & red pepper. I may even up red pepper to 1 1/2 tsp. Just what I was lookin for this will be our go to recipe. Try with chicken too its just as wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States