Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
As written, pretty bland. With some fixing-up, however, it was delicious! I tripled the garlic, added 2 tsp. minced fresh ginger, 1 tsp. beef bouillon (to the sauce), extra 1/4 tsp. red pepper, and another tablespoon or so of soy sauce. Also used round steak, which was much more tender and less fatty than sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
We added ½ tsp. garlic chili sauce & 1 tsp. fresh ginger & allowed the beef to marinate for most of the afternoon. As other reviews have suggested, add any type of vegetable you like – the recipe only gets better. We also added a little extra ginger & garlic chili sauce to the vegetables. Several have said adding vinegar doesn’t seem to help but I disagree. We used rice wine vinegar which is a terrific addition. Served with steamed rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This recipe results in a deep, rich, flavorful sauce. Just the right amount of heat and sourness. Hubby raves every time I fix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Hubby and I love this recipe! I don't find that the stated amount of vinegar adds a lot, though, I double it to get that little extra zing. It's great for when I come home after work and don't feel like spending any major time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
We loved it! I did make a few changes after reading the other reviews. I added 2 cloves of garlic, used 3/4 of a table spoon red pepper, chili oil instead of vegtable oil, used red, yellow & orange peppers instead of broc. and put over rice. The original recipe creates enough sauce which is nice with the rice. This definitely had flavored...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I've made this recipe several times. It's a great recipe to play with. I sometimes add carrots or snowpeas, or whatever is on hand. I like things spicy, so I up the red pepper to 1 teaspoon, put in lots of garlic and add chopped fresh ginger. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Mine was edible, but didn't have very much flavor. I tried adding some carrots for the color, but it needed something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
We served it with some fried rice but I didn't even eat the rice because the meal was great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liberty, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
We enjoyed this dish for dinner. I added the extra garlic and liked it, although didn't find it spicy at all. Doubling the pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp. might do the trick. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
My husband and I tried this recipe and while it's good, it needs.......something. Fresh ginger? Orange peel? More garlic? More red pepper? We don't know. It's a keeper because it makes a reasonably good, quick meal, but not something I'd do up for company. Thanks to the author for publishing it, though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States