Hot and Sweet Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
It really does taste like that at the Chinese restaurants. Very good, spicy! I thickened it a little with cornstarch as I was using it as a dipping sauce for fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
All I can say is make it exactly the way it is and you can't go wrong. I served it with tokatsu and everyone raved about it and was very surprised at the flavor that this sauce brought to the table. Will def make on many occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
My husband & I went bonkers over this sauce when we used it with the 'Chicken Katsu' & white rice I make off this site. I only used 1 t. red pepper flakes & it was spicy enough for us. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I thought this was the perfect combination of flavors, but definitely too spicy. I've made it twice, the second time with garlic powder instead of fresh (because I was out) and only a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUGSMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Wow, this was really authentic! I served it with store bought eggrolls from the freezer section and made fried rice and hot and sour soup. My hubby was so impressed he asked me to serve as an appetizer at our superbowl party this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Nice! VERY spicy as written, so add the red pepper sparingly if you're a heat lightweight. I added little more garlic and salt than called for. The texture was perfect, a little thinner than syrup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STEVE IN FL
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This sauce is outstanding! I also thickened it with cornstarch (about 1 TBS).. The chilis gave it a fantastic color and flavor. I will definately be making this again.. thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Fantastic sauce for eggrolls or wontons. It is meant to be on the thin side to gently flavor, not coat, items. Just like the good oriental restaurant versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Fantastic! Taste just like from the restaurant. I used Splenda instead of white sugar, because that's all I keep in the house, and used minced garlic from the jar instead of a garlic clove. The sauce was thin initially, however it had thickened to the perfect syrupy consistency by the next day. I used it on homemade spring rolls, by using large lettuce leaves as the wrap and put grilled chicken cubes with julienned cut cucumbers and shredded carrots on the inside. Low-fat and very filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This sauce was simple exactly what I expected it was going to be. I added a little corn starch slurry to thicken and used it as a stir fry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DWJHNST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States