Hot and Sweet Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
that was great. just starting out so i didnt know how it tasted. i made simple flour shrimp and used this as a dipping sauce. outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This dipping sauce is fantastic! We had it with homemade salmon patties and loved it. I did follow other reviewer's suggestions and cut back on the red pepper flakes. I used 1 tsp and it was plenty hot for us. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was a bit too 'vinager-ish' for us. Perhaps next time, I won't use as much rice vinegar, although this was a nice concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Wish I could give it four and a half stars as it was almost perfect. The thing is, it's a bit too thin. But a bit of corn starch and extra cook tome helps with that. Personally, I add a little bit more of everything except the rice vinegar and salt. I've made this so many times to go with my store bought egg rolls. It is much tastier than the stuff it comes with and I actually know the ingredients. Just remember, don't accidentally or otherwise inhale the vinegar steam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I have made this twice now and we like it a lot. It is more sour and sweet than hot but excellent on spring rolls, won tons, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This sauce was simple exactly what I expected it was going to be. I added a little corn starch slurry to thicken and used it as a stir fry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DWJHNST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Delightfully surprising. As it was simmering and as I mixed the other ingredients, ALL I could smell was the vinegar, and I was highly skeptical. But I kept faith and didn't alter the recipe at all (except maybe only 1 tsp pepper), and upon tasting it , the flavor was great! Personally, I'd prefer it to be a little thicker and syrupy than it is, but some cornstarch might help that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This sauce is perfect for so many dishes that it's a permanent fixture in my fridge. I do add a Tbsp of cornstarch (mixed in a small amount of water) to the boiling vinegar to make the sauce thicker. And feel free to substitute the dried red pepper flakes with Chili Garlic Sauce (Huy Fong, for example) if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made this dip for my New Years party and it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma_mootz3
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Nice! VERY spicy as written, so add the red pepper sparingly if you're a heat lightweight. I added little more garlic and salt than called for. The texture was perfect, a little thinner than syrup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States