Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I liked this recipe as it is easy to make, doesn't call for special ingeredient or pre-made bottled sauces that have million chemicals in them, and goes with almost any veggies you have in your freezer/fridge. These are the changes I had to make since I didn't have fresh chile peppers at home or brown sugar: I omitted the fresh chile, and substituted real maple syrup for the brown sugar. I also added frozen broccoli florets and grean beans. I used extra firm tofu and dried it with paper towels prior to using. Tasted good on a bed of plain white basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I used firm tofu lightly coated in flour to add some crispness. This was amazing! I used chili pepper seasoning instead of the flakes so the sauce blended easier. Also threw steamed broccoli into the sautée pan with the seared tofu before adding the sauce and simmering for a few minutes. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Can't say the family was a fan of tofu. Biggest complaint was texture. The sauce though was very good. Will probably make again, but will substitute diced chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe except I used olive oil instead of peanut oil and as some other reviewers noted, I multiplied the sauce by 1 1/2 times. The heat was perfect and we both really enjoyed it. I laid this on top of some Maifun rice sticks that I deep fried in oil along with a nice oriental salad with Makato orange ginger dressing. Definitely a keeper! Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I don't like the texture of crushed red pepper but this dish was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani Goldstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I didn't press the tofu and it started to fall apart and stick to the pan, it was spicy enough but I think it should have other veggies in it for taste, for looks, for variety
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Great, easy recipe. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I love this recipe! Since I am a vegetarian, its really hard to find delicious stir fry recipes and good sauces. I also included some brocclini and zucchini just to as some more vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Who knew tofu could be so good! Never had tofu before, but I just made this and it has become my favorite meal! I basically followed all of the directions, with a couple of additions from other reviewers. I added beansprouts to the dish, a dash of honey and a dash of Mirin Asian cooking wine to the "sauce". With 2-3 minutes left on the timer, I added a box (two packages)of Kame Hokkien Stir-fry noodles. I absolutely loved it and so did my husband and daughter, except for the spicyness. Perhaps I'll reduce it to a 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes next time; otherwise I'll keep it at a teaspoon so I can enjoy the leftovers myself!! Delicious and highly recommended! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was my first attempt at any tofu dish, and I couldn't be happier. I maybe went a little overboard with the peanut oil, so it did have more of a deep-fried texture, and I made sure it was nice and crispy on all sides. I was really afraid it would be crispy outside and mush inside, but it tasted good all around. I combined two suggestions and splashed some soy sauce on the tofu and tossed it in the freezer for 15 minutes before frying it. I used the whole amount of red pepper flakes and two (not-very-spicy) jalapeno peppers and thought it had just the right amount of spice. I used 3/4 of a yellow onion because it's what I had on hand, and after I tossed the veggies in I sprinkled some garlic powder and ground ginger on top. Also, I waited until I only had about 2 minutes left of cooking the veggies (out of 5) to add the garlic, so it wouldn't burn. I added about 1/2 tsp of honey and a dash of Worcestershire to the sauce, because I felt like it. This is a keeper~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States