Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I really liked this recipe. I changed it slightly using green bell pepper instead of red and added sliced carrots to the mix. Also, instead of the chile pepper I used chile pepper miso paste to give it a little extra kick. The recipe does not mention how to prepare the tofu but since I've cooked with it before I drained it first then froze it to give it more texture then drained it again before cubing. I would definitely make this again. The sweetness of the red onions plays great with the tang of the chili pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
My husband and I LOVE this! It's so easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This is fabulous! I used the 12oz package of tofu, and used olive oil instead of peanut oil. Didn't use nearly as much oil as called for. Used orange bell pepper instead of green, and probably didn't use as much onion and pepper as was called for. But I found this recipe to be delightful, and probably ate three out of the four servings myself! Thankfully, it seems to be (the way I made it)(relatively)low in fat, except for the frying part of it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is delicious!! I make a little extra sauce, but that's mainly because we like our stirfry with a lot of sauce. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
A wonderful and delicious find! We sliced our tofu into 1 x .5 inch rectangles and about 3 milimeters thick. Instead of just browning, we slightly deep fried it so that it was nice and crispy on the outside - not as healthy, but the texture is so much better! We also added about 1 tbs. of honey to the sauce to give it a bit more sweetness, and a handful of 'frying mushrooms' (my store carries this prepacked variety of shrooms best for frying, but shiitakes would work as well). This is a definite keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I absolutly loved this recipe. Probably one of my favorite tofu recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This was lovely -- very much like something you might get in a restaurant. I have been looking for a recipe like this for tofu for quite some time. We like the way the tofu gets brown and sealed on the outside yet stays moist and soft on the inside. The peppers and garlic really bring a nice flavor to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I pressed my tofu overnight in the fridge and fried it while it was cold. This is the first time I've made tofu where it tasted authentic to what I get at a chinese restaurant. I will certainly make this again! And don't omit anything - you need the garlic and soy sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
this is a standard in our house now. I do drain it over night as I think that it turns out crispier. It is very spicy so I vary the amount of pepper depending on our mood. Leftovers if any are awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was really quite good! I've never cooked with tofu before, and I was quite pleased with the results of my first attempt. The recipe was easy to follow, and the ingredients were straightforward. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States