Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was very delicious. I did a couple of things differently. One of the reviewers suggested soaking the tofu n soy sauce and mirin, which I did for 30 minutes. I also roasted the capsicum (red bell pepper) before cutting it into strips. I cooked the vegis first, then added the tofu. It wasn't really all that hot and spicy though, so i think you'd need to adjust the chile pepper and flakes to suit your taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wentworth Falls, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fireflyrebel
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very good recipe and so easy to make! The only thing I added was 2 zucchini sliced in half lengthwise and then into 1/4 inch slices. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
That sauce is AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
A tasty, easy, and healthy dish. I leave out the brown sugar to take out the sweetness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Such an quick & easy recipe, you can't NOT love this one! The only modification: low-sodium soy sauce. 1 tablespoon of regular soy sauce contains half the sodium you need in a day! Next time I would add green onions with that, and a bit of sweet peas for a little more green veggies. This is a true 30 minute dish. Oh and use brown rice, you'll hardly notice the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This recipe is one of my fav vegetarian dishes. I do my own variation of it, though. I add green bell pepper, 2 hot chilli peppers and 1 and 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. I also add a little extra brown sugar for sweettness. I cook my veggies a little longer because the recommended 5 minutes is long enough for them to be tender. This recipe is great served with basmati rice with Allspice sprinkled on top. Soooo good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is a wonderful, restaurant quality recipe. The spices as stated were just perfect in my opinion but are adjustable to suit all tastes as the flavor is not dependent on heat alone. We will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Yummy! I will definitely do this again! I had to substitute a little with what was on hand veggie wise but the sauce was by the recipe & fantastic! Oh yeah, I used veggie broth instead of water for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great first-time tofu recipe. I consider myself a wuss when it comes to spicy dishes, so I cut back on the pepper flakes. Next time I'm going to use the full tsp. I'll also add honey next time like other raters suggested. Delicious served over brown rice. Definitely sharing this recipe with my vegetarian brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Photo by conzone
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Excellent meal. First time preparing a tofu dish and it was incredible. I change I made was using 1/2 of a red onion. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conzone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States