Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is my favorite way to eat tofu. It is fantastic! I like to add fresh chunks of pineapple too. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
ADD CRUSHED PEANUTS! I tried to make my own peanut-flavored "oil" and ended up just dumping in a bunch of peanuts that i had put through a coffee grinder... it was SO much better than the previous time that I made it. if it ever seems too thin, just add a little more cornstarch. My boyfriend and I enjoy heaping a bunch of sriracha on it, too... sooo delicious. (and great with dry reisling)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This turned out well except for a couple things. I added extra bell pepper. It wasn't terribly spicy. It was too vinegary. The sauce was a little thin still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
It's a great dish and the first tofu I've ever tried, I just thought it was kind of flavorless in my first attemp. Added a blended habanaro the second time around, I guess I was tired of looking at it in the fridge.. I actually enjoyed it, which is odd because I've never really liked spicy. Now all of a sudden I can't get enough tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
the sauce didn't thicken... perhaps my cornstarch has gone bad. I can't taste/feel the sauce. Other than that, everything else was fantastic. I served mine on lentils and brown rice - 1/2 cup each, strained, put in boiling water and then simmered while you do the rest of the work on the onions, tofu etc. easy, and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tega Cay, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I loved this recipe. The sauce will thicken, trust me. Don't change a thing about it or add a bunch of unnecessary garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlene Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I had high hopes but it just wasn't there. The sauce was super watery and flavorless, not at all absorbing into the veggies and tofu. I ended up adding 1 or 2 TB sweet chili sauce, then a few shots of Frank's Red Hot, a few shots of teriyaki sauce, and more re-simmering. Better after that, but I think one should add more cornstarch than 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is one FABULOUS dish....I served it over soba noodles. Fresh, spicy, and totally delicious. A keeper recipe! I can't wait until lunch tomorrow to eat the remainder and I can't wait to make this recipe again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
OMG-don't you just love it when people say that, but this is OMG good. I have hated tofu but with recipes like this I am loving it and it is so good for you. I used 1 tsp. ground fresh chili paste instead of the pepper flakes and it had nice heat. I am sorry but I don't want to share this with anyone else in my family so I am dishing it up in small containers and putting it in the frig for me. Sorry family but you really wouldn't like tofu. Don't tell them. I will make this very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good, best tofu dish i've made. I drained the tofu very well, chopped it into small cubes, and marinated for 30 mins with tamari, white wine, and bit of five spice powder. I also used 1 tbsp vinegar and 2 tbsp white wine instead of straight vinegar. Went well with brown rice. It turned out great, perhaps not quite as spicy as I'd like, and even a little sweet. Overall, it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States