Hot and Spicy Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made these and gave them as Christmas presents in pretty packages...They LOVED them...thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Although I kept stirring, I should have taken them out much earlier or turned the oven heat WAY down. Even though they looked edible, although over cooked when I first took them out, after they cooled they were totally inedible--spices were so burnt. Bummer because nuts are so expensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
These are wonderful - nice change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
We just tried this recipe, and love it. We are going to make some more tonight. We finished this batch in about 3 days. This time we will double the recipe. We have no picture, because we ate them all. Not many grocery stores sell tasty pecans, so that makes this recipe a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great taste! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
meh...I had high hopes and freshly shelled pecans. Pretty bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Way too much chili powder, and I didn't even add the full amount. All I taste is chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made these for the first time last night and they didn't turn out as great as I expected. They taste okay but I will make some changes next time. I made a double batch, half pecans and half almonds. The seasonings didn't stick to the almonds at all; most of the seasoning is in the bottom of the bowl - next time I will be super careful when stirring the nuts, maybe that will help. I thought the chili powder was way too much - that is all I taste when I eat them! I will decrease that next time and probably increase the cayenne, Worcestershire, and garlic powder - I also added onion powder, because I love it. The nuts didn't burn, I cooked them at 250 degrees for the first 20 min, then upped it to 300 degrees for the last 10 min (stirred every 8-10 min). I will definitely try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbwtitus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I really loved this recipe, but agreed with a previous reviewer that "something" was missing. I added a heaping tablespoon of brown sugar to the butter & spice mixture & that did it--all the tastebuds are engaged and awake, but without an obviously sweet taste. Also, I used my own blend of chili powder (cinnamon, ginger, cumin, and ground chipotle chili) and it turned out beautifully. Be sure to use good-quality spices because they really do get a chance to shine in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I used lightly salted mixed nuts and added some cayenne pepper and seasoning salt, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States