Hot and Sour Tofu Soup (Suan La Dofu Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ChelsTheCook
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Such a delicious soup! I may never go out to Chinese food again! I did make a few modifications based on my personal preferences and what was available. I added some sesame oil while cooking because I've read that is the secret ingredient to asian foods in general. I garnished with sesame seeds. I left out the rice vinegar because I didn't have any (and because I like my soup a little less sour) and subbed lemon juice for citric acid. I threw in some chopped celery leaves because I like the flavor. I used the chili garlic paste (rooster on front, green lid), ~1 tbsp, and it was VERY HOT... will probably decrease that next time. But oh my, was it GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelsTheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good recipe, and just what the doctor ordered to cure my sore throat! I didn't have cabbage or mushrooms on hand, so skipped those. I also wanted to make it a little spicier so i added 1 TBSP Chinese-style Chili Garlic sauce, another 1 TBSP pureed fresh ginger root, and instead of the citric acid, I used 2 TBSP lime juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made this recipe minus the mushrooms and cabbage and it was DELICIOUS!!! a few of my coworkers smelled it and asked for the recipe, i passed it on and got rave reviews from them as well!! SIMPLE and delicious, nice bit of zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Absoutely amazing! I didn't use the thai chili sauce, as I didn't have any on hand. Without it this is still absolutely fantastic. A shame there is so much sodium, perhaps using low sodium broth and soy sauce would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I omitted the mushrooms but other than that, I didn't change a thing. It was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was great and Hubby loves it too! I had to substitute due to lack of a few ingredients on hand. I used 6 cups water and 1 individual miso cup pack instead of veg broth; small onion thinly sliced (no green ones at home); about 8 shitake mushrooms; plus 1/2 thinly sliced carrot. I forgot to add the egg. Since I upped the liquid, I used 2 Tb rice vinegar and 4 Tb tamari soy sauce. I also threw in a handful of sliced water chestnuts that I had left over from another recipe. It turned out great! Thanks for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Fast and easy! I couldn't find "Thai Chili Sauce" so I used Tobanjan, and garlic paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a very easy and quick soup recipe but tastes nothing like a traditional hot and sour soup. I will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyBeeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
The reviewer before me said that this soup was more like miso and I have to disagree with that. It's definitely hout and sour soup and I like the fact that all of these ingredients were easy to find (I live in a small town) and the soup was easy to make. i'm fighting a cold and that's why I chose this recipe. It definitely got the job done for me. It's a good "feel-better" hot and sour soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
mm-mmm tasty and SO easy to make. Plus for a novice cook like me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsfordindin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States