Hot and Sour Tofu Soup (Suan La Dofu Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I threw in a few raw shrimp, cut up and some dried seaweed for color and salt. Really make a good serving for 4, and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Tasted very close to what you get at a restaurant. I almost always have all of these ingredients on hand. Next time I will add some more traditional ingredients like tree ears and bamboo. Couldn't get enough of this soup, and it gets even better after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I appreciate the effort and it was tasty, but I don't think it's like hot & sour soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
We thought this was great; thanks a lot--it was very quick and easy to make. I did not use the citric acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The soup might not look like there is enough liquid, but as the mushrooms cook, their liquid will add plenty to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
wow this is wonderful.. i used chicken bouillon instead of vegetable broth.. used firm tofu.. and doubled the chile sauce.. didn't feel the need to add the citric acid.. ty so much for the recipe.. i'm feeling under the weather and was looking for a soothing soup.. glad i found this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I thought this recipe was awesome and it was very similar to the hot and sour soup I get at my favorite local chinese resturant. the only changes I just made two changes: I used sirracha hot sauce because couldnt find the thai chile paste and I used lemon juice instead of citric acid. I'm not sure why some of the reviewers were complaining about the soup not being authentic thai hot and sour soup because the author clearly states that that is not the point of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I really liked this more than I expected I would. I added a bit of water because I like a lot of broth in my soups, used extra firm tofu, added 2 extra Tbsp. of Thai chile sauce for heat, and used lemon juice in place of citric acid powder. All very small changes, and very happy with the results. Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
great flavor..will make again. It was very salty and I had to alter it to suit our tastes. I did add a few cups of water, doubled the cabbage, mushroom and egg...maybe next time I will add less soy sauce or use reduced sodium soy and broth. Either way it was a great base. THX :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I couldn't buy rice vinegar so I used white wine vinegar. I used a savory cabbage, which was perfect. Of course I adjusted to my tastes, but it is delightful. I made it for my mom who is sick on Mothers Day. I have a feeling with the vinegar, tofu and broth she will be feeling better soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States