Hot and Sour Tofu Soup (Suan La Dofu Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Very nice recipe, but not anything like hot and sour soup - more similar to miso soup if anything. But highly recommended all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
mm-mmm tasty and SO easy to make. Plus for a novice cook like me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsfordindin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
The reviewer before me said that this soup was more like miso and I have to disagree with that. It's definitely hout and sour soup and I like the fact that all of these ingredients were easy to find (I live in a small town) and the soup was easy to make. i'm fighting a cold and that's why I chose this recipe. It definitely got the job done for me. It's a good "feel-better" hot and sour soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a very easy and quick soup recipe but tastes nothing like a traditional hot and sour soup. I will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyBeeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Fast and easy! I couldn't find "Thai Chili Sauce" so I used Tobanjan, and garlic paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was great and Hubby loves it too! I had to substitute due to lack of a few ingredients on hand. I used 6 cups water and 1 individual miso cup pack instead of veg broth; small onion thinly sliced (no green ones at home); about 8 shitake mushrooms; plus 1/2 thinly sliced carrot. I forgot to add the egg. Since I upped the liquid, I used 2 Tb rice vinegar and 4 Tb tamari soy sauce. I also threw in a handful of sliced water chestnuts that I had left over from another recipe. It turned out great! Thanks for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I omitted the mushrooms but other than that, I didn't change a thing. It was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Absoutely amazing! I didn't use the thai chili sauce, as I didn't have any on hand. Without it this is still absolutely fantastic. A shame there is so much sodium, perhaps using low sodium broth and soy sauce would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made this recipe minus the mushrooms and cabbage and it was DELICIOUS!!! a few of my coworkers smelled it and asked for the recipe, i passed it on and got rave reviews from them as well!! SIMPLE and delicious, nice bit of zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good recipe, and just what the doctor ordered to cure my sore throat! I didn't have cabbage or mushrooms on hand, so skipped those. I also wanted to make it a little spicier so i added 1 TBSP Chinese-style Chili Garlic sauce, another 1 TBSP pureed fresh ginger root, and instead of the citric acid, I used 2 TBSP lime juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States