Hot and Sour Soup with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I've searched for a restaurant-styled Hot & Sour Soup recipe and I thank the submitter for this excellent recipe...Thank You sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is a favorite with my family - I usually add vegetables such as bok choy or Napa cabbage. I serve it with "sticky" rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I make a Hot and Sour Soup which is pretty similar...but with a few modifications! I use 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar, 4 oz tofu, 4 oz pork tenderloin cut into strips, 2 cloves crushed garlic, 1 egg gently folded in towards the end, mushrooms and some canned bamboo shoots cut into strips. To make things real authentic, you should probably use shiitake and broken tree ear mushrooms...but I'm usually lazy and just toss in some from a can until it looks good! :P Absolutley NO bell peppers of any sort!! I've never seen this in a real restaraunt! I don't use water chesnuts, either...not only do I just not like them, I've just never seen them in a restaraunt version! Everything else is pretty much the same!! Hope this helps with some of the complaints I've been hearing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I really loved this soup Ann. Although I'm not a huge fan of tofu, I do love it in hot and sour soup. Unfortunately I didn't have any on hand, so to add some protein to this dish, I poached a piece of tilapia in the broth. I did add more vinegar and used chili flavored sesame oil for even more heat. Like others, I needed to use more cornstarch and it thickened up just right. Delicious lunch for me today and thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I eliminated the red pepper and snow peas but added sliced mushrooms, garlic and bean sprouts. Everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I made a couple of changes you might like! Double the viniger to 2 table spoons, triple the corn starch to 3 table spoons, add about a teaspoon of powdered ginger, use olive oil in place of cooking oil for cooking the vegtables of coarse still useing the sesame oil as indicated for its wonderful flavor, mix yellow and red peppers for color and if you have a favorite hot pepper use it with or in place of the red peper flakes but still use the ground black pepper! I hope you like my little modifcations. Is more sour (VINIGER) with a nice texture (CORN STARCH) and warm after taste (FAVORITE PEPER plus the GINGER!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
A beautiful colorfull soup but it never got bubbly or thick. I'd use a bit more Corn starch and maybe Beef Broth instead of the chicken. Just my personal taste. I also used the whole 14 oz. of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
My husband and I liked this soup very much. I took the advice of one of the reviewers and added one raw egg at the end. Made all the difference in color and thickness. Also added a drop or two of tabasco sauce to "spice it up a notch." Can"t wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
My husband and I really liked this soup. I used 3 Tbsp of cornstarch, 2 Tbsp of vinegar, and I added mushrooms and an egg. It's a meal in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I changed the broth from chicken to vegetable and it still came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States