Hot and Sour Soup with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
Spicy, relatively quick, but not sour enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
It seemed a little too watery for my tastes, had to add more veggies and make it thicker with more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I changed the broth from chicken to vegetable and it still came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
As my husband is Chinese, I would like to offer the following "tip" to make this more "authentic": After the last step, but just prior to serving, whip up 1 raw egg with a fork and slowly add to the boiling soup, stirring constantly. You will notice the difference immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
A fairly good soup, although as others note, it was more watery than expected and I would add more cornstarch. I also don't think the water chestnuts "go" and used some white mushrooms instead. Not like the hot and sour at any Chinese restaurant I've ever been to, but nevertheless a decent soup. Definitely easy to prepare, since you can chop the next ingredients as it simmers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
was very very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
Not like in any Chinese restaurant I'VE been to in the past 40 years. I doubled the soy, vinegar, red pepper flakes, black pepper, and cornstarch, and added some chopped shitake and button mushrooms, and it's still too watery. This is all wrong! It's not all that bad a soup, but make no mistake: This is NOT even close to The Real Thing! The bell pepper is unnecessary, and where are the bamboo shoots? Next time, I'll just head for the nearest take-out joint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is a favorite with my family - I usually add vegetables such as bok choy or Napa cabbage. I serve it with "sticky" rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I didn't really care for this recipe. However, my idea of hot and sour is jaded due to the fact that my mom use to serve the best hot and sour soup at her restaurant. However, the recipe is quick and easy. Not bad if you have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I've searched for a restaurant-styled Hot & Sour Soup recipe and I thank the submitter for this excellent recipe...Thank You sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States