Hot and Sour Soup with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
My husband and I really liked this soup. I used 3 Tbsp of cornstarch, 2 Tbsp of vinegar, and I added mushrooms and an egg. It's a meal in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I really loved this soup Ann. Although I'm not a huge fan of tofu, I do love it in hot and sour soup. Unfortunately I didn't have any on hand, so to add some protein to this dish, I poached a piece of tilapia in the broth. I did add more vinegar and used chili flavored sesame oil for even more heat. Like others, I needed to use more cornstarch and it thickened up just right. Delicious lunch for me today and thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
My husband and I liked this soup very much. I took the advice of one of the reviewers and added one raw egg at the end. Made all the difference in color and thickness. Also added a drop or two of tabasco sauce to "spice it up a notch." Can"t wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
A beautiful colorfull soup but it never got bubbly or thick. I'd use a bit more Corn starch and maybe Beef Broth instead of the chicken. Just my personal taste. I also used the whole 14 oz. of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I tripled the cornstarch and it was still a little watery. Also although the sour part is about right if you use 2 tablespoons of vinegar, it's not very hot. I'll have to work on that part. Being creative is part of cooking. I really liked having the red pepper in it. I also added about 5 ounces of button mushrooms that I sautéed. Thanks for giving me a good starting point Ann. This is better than other recipes I’ve tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
The flavor just didn't turn out quite right. Very watery. I will try again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This had a most lovely flavor. My family and I loved this soup. A few suggestions...The bell pepper is unecassary. Soup way too thin and had to add 3 TBSP more corn starch. Hot&sour soup doesn't exist w/o eggs so I scrambled 2 eggs in a bowl and slowly poured it in at the end of the process. Added a couple handfuls of clean and cooked shrimp...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
The taste of this soup is fine. My wife and I both thought it was okay. Still, as others have said, in the hundreds of Chinese restaurants I've dined in through the years, I've never had a hot and sour soup that tasted even close to this: It's too watery (better increase the corn starch), no cabbage, no bamboo shoots, and I've never seen hot and sour soup with peppers of any kind in the mix. If called something else, I might have given this recipe four stars, but since the recipe is called hot and sour soup, I'm rating it relative to it's claim of being a hot and sour soup. Relative to other hot and sour soups I've had, this was quite marginal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I make a Hot and Sour Soup which is pretty similar...but with a few modifications! I use 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar, 4 oz tofu, 4 oz pork tenderloin cut into strips, 2 cloves crushed garlic, 1 egg gently folded in towards the end, mushrooms and some canned bamboo shoots cut into strips. To make things real authentic, you should probably use shiitake and broken tree ear mushrooms...but I'm usually lazy and just toss in some from a can until it looks good! :P Absolutley NO bell peppers of any sort!! I've never seen this in a real restaraunt! I don't use water chesnuts, either...not only do I just not like them, I've just never seen them in a restaraunt version! Everything else is pretty much the same!! Hope this helps with some of the complaints I've been hearing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I made a couple of changes you might like! Double the viniger to 2 table spoons, triple the corn starch to 3 table spoons, add about a teaspoon of powdered ginger, use olive oil in place of cooking oil for cooking the vegtables of coarse still useing the sesame oil as indicated for its wonderful flavor, mix yellow and red peppers for color and if you have a favorite hot pepper use it with or in place of the red peper flakes but still use the ground black pepper! I hope you like my little modifcations. Is more sour (VINIGER) with a nice texture (CORN STARCH) and warm after taste (FAVORITE PEPER plus the GINGER!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States