Hot and Sour Soup with Bean Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very tasty. Didn't use the tofu or the serrano chilis, but substituted 3/4 tsp. chili pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
this was a pretty good start for someone (like me) who hasn't ever made this soup before. i added shredded carrot, regular mushrooms & some other crazy mushroom i found at market. i also added chili oil and prepared the whole thing in a cast iron dutch oven/jumbalaya pot. it rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was just OK - it needed more vinegar and more chile pepper - not very hot or very sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a great recipe! I doubled soy and vinegar and added white vinegar. 1-2 tablespoons of Tamarind soured it up and worked well with the cilantro. It reminded me of a Thai version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This absolutely surprised me !! I did not expect it to taste so authentic without the lily buds and black mushrooms. I used a combo of fresh and dried shitakes, but other than that made as directed. The balance of sour and heat was pleasant when I first made it. However, I prepared through step 2 about 2 hrs before serving. It lost some of its original zip. I had to tweak it with soy, vinegar and more pepper. I also used a white pepper/black pepper combination for heat. Egg added some cloudiness but did not affect taste. My advice: Have everything prepped, but do not go past step 1 until just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a good start but I ended up having to tweak it a bunch to get enough flavor for our tastes and was still left feeling like it was missing something. I am going to have to order a bowl again and figure out what I am missing. Also, I love cilantro, but I have to say that I felt it did not belong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was a great dinner. My kids wanted to try tofu, so this is what I picked. They loved it as did my husband. I could not find the tamari so I didn't use it, it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I didnt have tamari sauce in the house so i made it without it. I didnt like the ginger pieces, so i think next time i would use it with dry ginger. I love this soup...and it was SO easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I doubled the amount of everything except the bamboo shoots, bean sprouts, and egg. I also added some thin slices of onion and left out the corn starch. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was ok. Not sour enough, and black fungus is a must in hot and sour soup. This could become perfect soup, but would need lots of doctoring first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States