Hot and Sour Soup with Bean Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
this was a pretty good start for someone (like me) who hasn't ever made this soup before. i added shredded carrot, regular mushrooms & some other crazy mushroom i found at market. i also added chili oil and prepared the whole thing in a cast iron dutch oven/jumbalaya pot. it rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was just OK - it needed more vinegar and more chile pepper - not very hot or very sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very tasty. Didn't use the tofu or the serrano chilis, but substituted 3/4 tsp. chili pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was a great dinner. My kids wanted to try tofu, so this is what I picked. They loved it as did my husband. I could not find the tamari so I didn't use it, it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I didnt have tamari sauce in the house so i made it without it. I didnt like the ginger pieces, so i think next time i would use it with dry ginger. I love this soup...and it was SO easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a good start but I ended up having to tweak it a bunch to get enough flavor for our tastes and was still left feeling like it was missing something. I am going to have to order a bowl again and figure out what I am missing. Also, I love cilantro, but I have to say that I felt it did not belong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a great recipe! I doubled soy and vinegar and added white vinegar. 1-2 tablespoons of Tamarind soured it up and worked well with the cilantro. It reminded me of a Thai version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was ok. Not sour enough, and black fungus is a must in hot and sour soup. This could become perfect soup, but would need lots of doctoring first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This absolutely surprised me !! I did not expect it to taste so authentic without the lily buds and black mushrooms. I used a combo of fresh and dried shitakes, but other than that made as directed. The balance of sour and heat was pleasant when I first made it. However, I prepared through step 2 about 2 hrs before serving. It lost some of its original zip. I had to tweak it with soy, vinegar and more pepper. I also used a white pepper/black pepper combination for heat. Egg added some cloudiness but did not affect taste. My advice: Have everything prepped, but do not go past step 1 until just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I doubled the amount of everything except the bamboo shoots, bean sprouts, and egg. I also added some thin slices of onion and left out the corn starch. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States