Hot and Sour Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made with red cabbage & adjusted the oil, vinegar and mustard to be more like salad dressing- 1/3 c oil, 1/4 c tarragon vinegar, 2T Dijon, omitted hot sauce, 2.5T brown sugar and added some sesame seeds. Great base to use with with ever you've got on hand-- could add tomatoes, cilantro, cukes, broccoli,etc. saved in my salad folder for future reference. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosiesMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
this recipe was perfect for us.. but we love vinegar and pungent tasting foods.. only difference is we used regular cabbage.. and rice wine vinegar in place of cider.. also omitted the white sugar.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
What a great slaw to serve with an asian salmon. I used 2 heads of bok choy, but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was really tasty! I used pre packaged shredded cabbage instead of bok choy. I thinly sliced red and yellow peppers and added the green onions. I used 1 tbsp less of cider vinegar, and added two shakes of hot sauce. I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. Delish, hot and tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
After reading the reviews I cut way back on the vinegar but that is the only change I made. This was a very nice change from your ordinary slaw. It was very colorful and pretty dish too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This salad is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I do not know how so many people liked this. It was way too vinegar-y. I found it also to be barely edible... what a waste of some delicious bok choy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisAlyss22

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
i made this with green cabbage and used sriracha instead of red pepper, and did half cider vinegar and half rice vinegar. it smells like WHOA. it tastes pretty good. next time i will use all rice vinegar and just omit the cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very yummy!! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I had never used bok choy before, and found this recipe very good. I liked the spice in the dressing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States