Hot and Sour Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was very good although i didnt add the bean sprouts but added some cajun seasoning ithit the spot and everyone at church LOVED . it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was pretty good...a little too sour for my taste...so next time I will reduce the lime juice by half. I also added a tsp of oyster sauce to give it more of an Asian flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Super. Different. Spicy and Colourful. I had to use a larger noodle and I should have broken them so they fit on the spoon better. I used canned mushrooms, because I didn't have fresh. I left out the bean sprouts because I didn't have any. As recommended in earlier recipes, I added Fish Sauce and I used some pineapple juice replacing the sugar. I cooked the noodles in the liquid, not before-hand. The purist might say I changed the recipe too much - I don't care, I credit this recipe with 90% of the end product and that's good enough for me. 5 stars. This is good. I served a garlic bread with melted mozzarella cheese and a glass of white wine on the side. My 14 year old son enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This soup is wonderful, not only easy but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This soup was actually quite good! However, I would definitely add and improve to this, as the flavor on its own is a little bland for my taste. I had to substitute some items, however. Instead of white button mushrooms, I used portobella caps and I think it made the soup a lot heartier than it would have been. I also omitted the tomato and celery, added a generous helping of rice vinegar (about 1/2 cup), and used a LOT MORE soy sauce than what it called for (about 1/4 cup or so). (I like my soup salty and sour!) This was really good and filling. For those on Weight Watchers: as made, 1 serving equals 4 PlusPoints. Delicious. Thanks, Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
First off this is not hot and sour soup, it's Thai in origin. My guys thought it was ok but it lacked a bitterness that they were looking for maybe some vinegar would have helped and they didn't like the noodles in the soup. I took the advice of others and substituted pineapple juice for sugar and added fish sauce but it was still not up to par. The soup has an ok base and with alot of tweaking could make a decent Thai soup but I think I will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I was skeptical at first because there was no fish sauce, but it has a great taste. Very easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe is a wonderful base for what I have been looking for!! I like mine served over white rice, so I left out the noodles altogether. I used shitake mushrooms, more tomatoes, left out the sugar and used the pineapple juice instead. The most important ingredient, however, is FISH SAUCE. I just poured it to taste....lots of it =) I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this soup!! It's fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Sorta somewhat bland, but nothing salt, pepper and some hot sauce can't fix. I liked it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I was really craving soup and this recipe really hit the spot! Since pineappple can have a strong flavor I made sure to cut it into small pieces. Instead of the pepper flakes I added red pepper paste to give it a more uniform heat. I am looking forward to the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States