Hot and Sour Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
This is soooooo good. I made the mistake of thinking I could peel and devein my own shrimp....I recommend just buying the stuff already done. This isn't really good reheated so you may want to make sure this is your main dish if you have a smaller family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was very good although i didnt add the bean sprouts but added some cajun seasoning ithit the spot and everyone at church LOVED . it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This soup is wonderful, not only easy but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
very nice,easy to make and yes, it is elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Followed recipe except for following changes: Doubled noodles (used rice noodles - authentic), doubled mushrooms (we love mushrooms) and doubled garlic... It turned out better than expected. Easy to make, quick and delicious! Makes a great "cold day" warm-me-up lunch ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Ok, I used this recipe more as a guide. I pretty much just eyeballed the ingredients, adding more of whatever until it tasted how I wanted. I omitted the sugar, and used some of the pineapple juice instead, and I also added a good splash of Fish Sauce for more of an authentic Thai flavor. Finally, I didn't bother cooking my noodles separately - I just added them to the soup, and let them soften in the broth. This was absolutely delicious, and something I will definitely make again. Thanks so much, Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I was really craving soup and this recipe really hit the spot! Since pineappple can have a strong flavor I made sure to cut it into small pieces. Instead of the pepper flakes I added red pepper paste to give it a more uniform heat. I am looking forward to the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe is a wonderful base for what I have been looking for!! I like mine served over white rice, so I left out the noodles altogether. I used shitake mushrooms, more tomatoes, left out the sugar and used the pineapple juice instead. The most important ingredient, however, is FISH SAUCE. I just poured it to taste....lots of it =) I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this soup!! It's fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I was skeptical at first because there was no fish sauce, but it has a great taste. Very easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Super. Different. Spicy and Colourful. I had to use a larger noodle and I should have broken them so they fit on the spoon better. I used canned mushrooms, because I didn't have fresh. I left out the bean sprouts because I didn't have any. As recommended in earlier recipes, I added Fish Sauce and I used some pineapple juice replacing the sugar. I cooked the noodles in the liquid, not before-hand. The purist might say I changed the recipe too much - I don't care, I credit this recipe with 90% of the end product and that's good enough for me. 5 stars. This is good. I served a garlic bread with melted mozzarella cheese and a glass of white wine on the side. My 14 year old son enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States