Hot and Sour Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
very nice,easy to make and yes, it is elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
This is soooooo good. I made the mistake of thinking I could peel and devein my own shrimp....I recommend just buying the stuff already done. This isn't really good reheated so you may want to make sure this is your main dish if you have a smaller family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCOB2
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This soup was fair. In my opinion it was a little on the bland side. I would make it again, but with less water and more broth to add flavor. Add more noodles too, throw in the whole 8 oz bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Followed recipe except for following changes: Doubled noodles (used rice noodles - authentic), doubled mushrooms (we love mushrooms) and doubled garlic... It turned out better than expected. Easy to make, quick and delicious! Makes a great "cold day" warm-me-up lunch ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Ok, I used this recipe more as a guide. I pretty much just eyeballed the ingredients, adding more of whatever until it tasted how I wanted. I omitted the sugar, and used some of the pineapple juice instead, and I also added a good splash of Fish Sauce for more of an authentic Thai flavor. Finally, I didn't bother cooking my noodles separately - I just added them to the soup, and let them soften in the broth. This was absolutely delicious, and something I will definitely make again. Thanks so much, Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I was really craving soup and this recipe really hit the spot! Since pineappple can have a strong flavor I made sure to cut it into small pieces. Instead of the pepper flakes I added red pepper paste to give it a more uniform heat. I am looking forward to the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Sorta somewhat bland, but nothing salt, pepper and some hot sauce can't fix. I liked it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe is a wonderful base for what I have been looking for!! I like mine served over white rice, so I left out the noodles altogether. I used shitake mushrooms, more tomatoes, left out the sugar and used the pineapple juice instead. The most important ingredient, however, is FISH SAUCE. I just poured it to taste....lots of it =) I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this soup!! It's fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I was skeptical at first because there was no fish sauce, but it has a great taste. Very easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
First off this is not hot and sour soup, it's Thai in origin. My guys thought it was ok but it lacked a bitterness that they were looking for maybe some vinegar would have helped and they didn't like the noodles in the soup. I took the advice of others and substituted pineapple juice for sugar and added fish sauce but it was still not up to par. The soup has an ok base and with alot of tweaking could make a decent Thai soup but I think I will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States