Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
The first time I made this I followed it exactly and it was very tasty. Then the second time I made it, I added one large chopped onion, one chopped green pepper; sauted them first, then added the eggplant and I also added two minced garlic cloves towards the end of cooking. I also doubled the sauce. I replaced most of the sugar with splenda (diabetic here!)and it turned out really yummy. I will definitely be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I did mine a little differently. I used regular eggplant and rice wine vinegar instead of red wine. I didn't have a chile pepper so I used a 1/4 tsp. cayenne. I didn't have chili oil so I used sesame. I peeled and sliced the eggplant and brushed both sides with additional sesame oil. I broiled them on both sides along with sliced slabs of red Bermuda onion rings also brushed with the sesame oil. Meanwhile, I combined the sauce ingredients (I doubled the sauce)and microwaved for 2 minutes until thickened, stirring every 30 seconds. When the eggplant was browned, I basted it and served it topped with toasted sesame seeds. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Today, I found 8 chinese eggplant at my local farmers market for 99 cents. This recipe looked most appetizing so I tried it. I made 4 times the recipe, added 2 Tbs. of Cooking Sherry, 1 clove of garlic and omitted the salt. Also, I added a little chopped ginger, crushed red pepper flakes (instead of chilli oil) and a half of a red green peppper. This tastes just as good as our best local chinese restaurant and living so close to New York, I think I know good Chinese food. Thanks, Bonnie, now my family thinks I can really cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
this recipe is REDICULOUSLY easy and SO good!! changes i made were minor: doubled the sauce, used arrowroot instead of cornstarch, added fresh string beans and a green pepper (cooked for a few minutes with the eggplant, after it was browned, before sauce was added). i garnished with sesame seeds and served it with steamed brown rice. i can't even believe how good it is - it's going into the rotation, for sure!! i'd imagine this simple sauce would be great with chicken or tofu as well. total keeper - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
this recipe is great! i tweaked it a bit by using sesame oil instead of chili oil and added cayenne pepper to taste. i also tripled the sauce recipe (except the cornstarch and vinegar)because i added cut green bell peppers and ground chicken to it. my husband said it tasted like the kind he has eaten at restaurants. highly recommended if u like chinese food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I thought this was really delicious. My husbad and I always order this dish (with ground pork) at the chinese restaurants and I've been looking for the recipe for a while now. Well we enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was pretty good. I used only 1 small eggplant and added 2 small zucchini, garlic and shallots to the eggplant and tossed everything in olive oil. Also added 1/2 lb. of ground chicken that I cooked up separately with just some salt and pepper. Doubled the sauce and used red pepper flakes because I had not chile oil or peppers on hand. I will make this again, but I will try to make it a touch more sweet. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This was a great recipe, but I thought it was lacking in extra vegetables. So I added: mushrooms, green onions, and chinese pea pods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shony Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Delicious! My six year old was begging for more! You could easily double the sauce and add chicken or pork to the mix - serve over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
very yummy. i used asian eggplant (used chinese once and japanese the other time. no real difference), added somegarlic, sweet onion and mushrooms. i doubled the sauce and used splenda. also used asian chili sauce, added fresh ginger, a little sesame oil (may not do that in the future, it's a little overboard) and added chinese 5 spice. the sauce is great. i also used the sauce in a beef and broccoli stir fry. it was awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States