Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I am allergic to eggplant so I used used squash and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I was looking for a different way to prepare eggplant and this was certainly easy to prepare. I halved the oil for frying (just to cut back on fat) but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I did add some extra cayenne to turn up the heat but that's just personal taste. Thanks for the recipe Bonnie, this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was so yummy! I left out the chile pepper since I didn't have any & used regular eggplant. Served it with rice and citrus glazed tilapia. Very tasty. Next time I will add more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
delicious, but as written there wasn't enough food - perhaps my eggplant was smaller than the author intended. Needed to double the sauce too. But the flavor was delicious. Will definatly make this again, just in larger quanities and may throw some other veggies in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This is our new favorite way to eat eggplant. The only change I made was I omitted the chile pepper because I didn't have one on hand. My husband went out and bought chinese eggplant JUST so I would make this again. I've found that with the chinese eggplant I don't have to "sweat" it like regular eggplant, but it's easy to over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I would actually like to give this one 4.5 stars. I made a couple of adjustments to make it perfect. Doubled the sauce, used rice vinegar instead of red, and added a tbs of oyster sauce. Also because there were no long peppers available, I used rooster sauce. All these changes were to my and my families likings and I think enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent, restaurant quality sauce! I always double or triple the sauce (sometimes use tofu or different veggies), omit the salt, and use rice wine vinegar and toasted sesame oil. My husband and I crave this sauce at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
So good and so easy. Will definitely double the sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I loved this recipe! I added fried tofu, red peppers, onions, and minced garlic. I used rice vinegar in place of the red wine vinegar, siracha sauce instead of a green chili, and sesame oil instead of chili oil. I also tripled the sauce because I added more stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feminiSh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Tasty, but very very spicy. It tased more like an ingredient than a main or side dish in and of itself. Very intense, but it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States