Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
really tasty with addition of ground chicken, like other users i also used sesame oil and cayenne instead of chili oil, and I used canned green chiles (old el paso).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Had some eggplants in my garden I need to use up so decided to try this. OMG it was so good! Fast and easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I made this for my wife last week. After our first try, she had me make it 3 more times that week. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy Van Heest

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
my parent's own a Chinese restaurant and I always feel bad going there to eat all the time. So, once in awhile, I'll try to make Chinese food at home on occasion. This recipe is excellent and one I will keep on hand for a cold, snowy day to warm me up! The only change I made is that I added in a little diced green onions right at the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Rieper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
A great start to a recipe! I only used one (huge) eggplant, then added a green pepper and a giant carrot, thinly sliced. For the doubled portion of sauce I used black vinegar, a splash of red wine, sriracha to taste instead of the pepper/chili oil, a tsp of chopped garlic, red pepper flakes and 1/3 cup of orange juice. It thickened up right away after pouring it over the sauteed veggies. Add some frozen chicken tenders until cooked through and serve over rice! mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was really easy and yummy! I served it has a side dish to some baked lemon chicken breast and it was fantastic. I added some green beans to mine as well and completely omitted the oil, opting instead to saute it in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! My modifications were: I added stir fried tofu with soy sauce, an onion and 4 cloves of garlic. I also tripled the sauce. The dish was a huge hit! My fiance requested that I make it at least a twice a week : ) Two thumbs up. Great vegan-friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
it was ok, not as good as our local chinese restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Yummy, though like other users I added some chopped onion and doubled the sauce. I don't think there would have been enough sauce if I'd stuck with the recipe. And I used a squirt of sriracha instead of the chile pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States