Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Yummy! I wanted to serve this over some jasmine rice so I triple the sauce. I also just used a regular eggplant. Worked great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! I have made it twice, and used brown sugar both times instead of white and it was great! The first time I added shrimp and mushrooms, and the second time chicken, onion, and bell peppers. I tripled the sauce both times as well as I like extra sauce and it was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iove2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great side dish. We didn't have any chili oil and substitued red pepper flakes although the chili oil would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Delicious! Very quick and easy. Huge hit with the family. Double the yummy sauce...you'' be glad you did. Next time we are adding other veges as suggested by previous reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I tripled the recipe. In the tripled recipe, I used one green Thai chile and then just added two dried chile peppers. I also used sesame oil in place of the chili oil. I didn't add any salt either. If using sesame oil in the future, I probably wouldn't use 1/2 tsp per serving. Other than that, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is excellent and very versatile - thank you for sharing. I tossed the eggplant in the oil and half a tsp each of ginger and garlic and baked it at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes instead of pan frying since I was making a large quantity, made the sauce separately and then tossed it together. It tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!! Like others, I felt the sauce needed to be increased, I trippled it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
love it i can eat it every week , i triple the sauce u cant have too much of it and use regular eggplant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I had to substitute the green chili pepper and chili oil for dried red chili peppers, but it was still great! I love eggplant and this will be a great new way to cook it. Will make again. My one complaint is that the recipe only made enough sauce to cover the eggplant, but not enough to mix in with my rice. Next time I will have to remember to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia Gilbertson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I tripled or more the sauce and added green peppers, onions and zucchini along with sauteed chicken. It was tasty but not hot and spicy. I'll need to increase the heat with red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States