Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great side dish. We didn't have any chili oil and substitued red pepper flakes although the chili oil would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Delicious! Very quick and easy. Huge hit with the family. Double the yummy sauce...you'' be glad you did. Next time we are adding other veges as suggested by previous reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I tripled the recipe. In the tripled recipe, I used one green Thai chile and then just added two dried chile peppers. I also used sesame oil in place of the chili oil. I didn't add any salt either. If using sesame oil in the future, I probably wouldn't use 1/2 tsp per serving. Other than that, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is excellent and very versatile - thank you for sharing. I tossed the eggplant in the oil and half a tsp each of ginger and garlic and baked it at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes instead of pan frying since I was making a large quantity, made the sauce separately and then tossed it together. It tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!! Like others, I felt the sauce needed to be increased, I trippled it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
love it i can eat it every week , i triple the sauce u cant have too much of it and use regular eggplant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I had to substitute the green chili pepper and chili oil for dried red chili peppers, but it was still great! I love eggplant and this will be a great new way to cook it. Will make again. My one complaint is that the recipe only made enough sauce to cover the eggplant, but not enough to mix in with my rice. Next time I will have to remember to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I tripled or more the sauce and added green peppers, onions and zucchini along with sauteed chicken. It was tasty but not hot and spicy. I'll need to increase the heat with red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I used regular eggplant, doubled the sauce and kept the cornstarch the same amt. Everyone loved it. Next time I'll use chinese eggplant and triple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
As a new cook, this was one of the more flavorful, intricate recipes I've ever prepared. In fact, I plan to use the sauce for chicken and other stir-fry veggies now that eggplant season is gone. Great recipe! I highly recommend adding onion and green/red bell peppers for color and variety. Be careful not to overcook the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States