Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Didn't have chili oil or a green chili pepper (not for lack of trying to find these things) and had some difficulty balancing out the flavors, so looked up how to make chili oil and found chili peppers (i've had in my spice cabinet and threw one in) cumin and pepper, as well as red chili flakes. Also had a HUGE amount of eggplant and doubled the sauce twice (made it in two batches) We added that mustard you get from the chinese restaurants and it was pretty good. I really shouldn't be rating this recipe since I didn't follow it, so give it 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Super easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Super easy and pretty close to the authentic Chinese eggplant dish. (I'm Chinese, I should know). A few things I did differently... I was too hungry to soak the eggplants. I mixed the sauce (minus green chili pepper and chili oil, plus crushed chili sauce), added a tsp of oil, added the cut eggplant and cooked with lid covering a non-stick pan, stirring constantly. I added some red onion and green onions and a little water near the end of cooking when the sauce dried up. It turned out pretty good. Next time I'll wait to add the cornstarch until the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very tasty and almost taste like restaurant eggplant dishes (but less greasy). Here are some tips I gathered from other reviews: -Double the sauce -Used rice wine vinegar instead of red wine -Can substitute 2 tbsp of flour for 1 tbsp cornstarch -Cut chile pepper in half, remove seeds, then slice -Sauteed with 2 cloves of garlic and some onions -Spray eggplant with oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Living in Japan, eggplants are one of the most common and inexpensive vegetables around. This is now one of our favorite recipes... sometimes make it with a little ground chicken or turkey and serve over rice as an entire meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I've made this many times, definitely make extra sauce. I've used chinese and italian eggplant and both work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Super easy and quite tasty. I added a chopped red pepper and sliced garlic. My kids liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
YUM! I added sweet chili sauce instead of chili oil and that turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Yummy! I wanted to serve this over some jasmine rice so I triple the sauce. I also just used a regular eggplant. Worked great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! I have made it twice, and used brown sugar both times instead of white and it was great! The first time I added shrimp and mushrooms, and the second time chicken, onion, and bell peppers. I tripled the sauce both times as well as I like extra sauce and it was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iove2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States