Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Both of us like the taste of the sauce; I thought it overpowered the eggplant but Ann disagreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
The easiest and best eggplant ever! I would not change a thing. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
After reading some of the reviews, I cooked an onion and some garlic in a wok first. Then I added a red pepper, mushrooms, broccoli, sirloin steak & ginger. Next time I will use shrimp or chicken breast. I served it with rice. We both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Delish! I added onions chopped into rings, green bell peppers, 2 minced garlic, mushrooms and zucchini. I used rice wine vinegar since I was out of red wine vinegar. I also used sesame oil instead of the chili oil since that's what I had on hand. Then I topped it all off with sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
The sauce was very good and would work for any stir fry. My husband suggested adding orange zest and I will try that next time. I have two reasons for only giving this recipe 4 stars. 1 - the directions did not say to peel the eggplant and the skin was very tough and took away from the great taste of the eggplant. 2 - just using eggplant does not seem like enough of a main meal. I added chicken, red pepper, mushrooms, snow peas, and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicaraydrake
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was an instant favorite. I read the reviews and also doubled the sauce and added half a coarsely chopped onion, a whole yellow pepper, one large carrot sliced lengthwise and, although out of season, some store bought asparagus. Additionally I replaced the chili oil, as I had none, with olive oil mixed with Sriracha. THE WHOLE DISH WAS GREAT! I used a tablespoon of Splenda but next time will probably do a tablespoon and a half. It was very pretty and hearty. My husband and I loved it. For Non-Vegetarians the eggplant could easily be replaced with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Awesome!! So easy and tastes just like you would get from a Chinese restaurant! We will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I don't like eggplant and the thai chili sauce is meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I used Rice wine vinegar. Used Chile paste, Soy Sauce,and oyster sauce to make sauce, which was doubled. Also added Red pepper sliced, broccoli florets, and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Eggplant is by far my favorite vegetable, and this is my favorite way to prepare it. You will definitely want to at least double the sauce recipe -- I triple it because I like extra sauce to mix into steamed white rice. In a pinch you can use Italian eggplants which have been salted and rinsed, but Chinese eggplant is really crucial if you want super buttery texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States